Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I got my Dapper CDs yesterday (yeah ) But the installation seems to go bunk every time I've retried. I have reformated and deleted and created new partitions. Does anyone ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16

    Question Dapper Reinstallation Issues


    I got my Dapper CDs yesterday (yeah ) But the installation seems to go bunk every time I've retried. I have reformated and deleted and created new partitions. Does anyone have an idea of how to fix this?


    Sincerely

    Christopher Palmer

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Well, we can't help you unless you give us a lot more detail. What exactly "goes bunk" when you try to install? What errors do you get? What's your system hardware specs?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16

    Ok...

    What goes bunk is that is freezes at 6%, 15%, or 22%. There are no error messages. The system spec of the machine (dont gasp) AMD K7 Processor @ 766 Mhz with AGP @x video card, Creative Sound Card (32 Bit), Ethernet Adapter(Netgear), 4 gig Hard Drive, and 448 MB of RAM.


    Christopher Palmer

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User Dark_Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around St. Louis
    Posts
    284
    Will ubuntu fit on that small of a hard drive? Right now mine is using...

    2g for swap
    3g for root
    2g for home

    You won't need that much swap. (i probably don't) But I'm allready at 5gigs with just root and home.

    Edit: Okay, I just looked it up. Ubuntu says minimum system requirements are...
    256mb ram
    3gigs hd space
    So you should be okay. Is the disk scratched or anything?
    Two levels higher than a newb.
    (I can search google)

  6. #5
    Linux User truoc444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Southern Roots, Stuck in the Mountains
    Posts
    348
    i've had that problem with shipit discs before. just try a different disc.
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

    Go 'Stros!

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16

    ok,

    I have tried different disks, my system does seem to make the requirements though. Should I try try swapping in another hard drive?

    Chris

    (THANKS FOR THE HELP SO FAR )

    UPDATE:

    The other hard drive is dead...any alternative with the working one?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •