Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok ill admit, im a newbie and im going crazy. I had Xandros linux, but i could not stand it. So i switched to Kubuntu, and now im trying to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Horror installing LimeWire

Ok ill admit, im a newbie and im going crazy. I had Xandros linux, but i could not stand it. So i switched to Kubuntu, and now im trying to install LimeWire to no avail.

Heres the issues im running into.

Basically if i try to install the deb packag from the console i get this

Code:
     root@dustin-desktop:/home/dustin# ./limewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb
    -su: ./limewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb: Permission denied
    I could never access root by typing su i had to do a sudo su -

I tried

Code:
    chmod a+x jre-1_5_0-linux-i586-rpm.binlimewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb
    and then tried to execute it and got this:

Code:
    ./limewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb
    ./limewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb: line 1: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
    ./limewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb: line 1: `!<arch>'
    root@dustin-desktop:/home/dustin# ./limewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb
    ./limewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb: line 1: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
    ./limewire-free_4.12.3-0_i386.deb: line 1: `!<arch>'
    basically im at a standstill ive already converted and rpm file to a .deb file and it seems these debain files are difficult to install...
    if i double click them it tells me the Utility is not in my PATH....
    I read something about binutils, but that is also a .deb file and i am not understanding exactly what im doing wrong here

I even tried to execute limewire through a shortcut script and it gave me something about java not being installed, but i just got done installinge the latest jre from java.com with the instructions it gave me!?
    any help would be very much appreciated

Just Joined!