Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi I am brand new to using linux. Here is my hardware celeron d 3.06 ghz. (64 bit) 1 gig ram nvidia geforce 6200 by pny Here is my problem ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

x server failed to start( New to linux)

Hi I am brand new to using linux.

Here is my hardware

celeron d 3.06 ghz. (64 bit)
    1 gig ram
    nvidia geforce 6200 by pny

Here is my problem and since i am new to ubuntu i don't understand jack about what is going on.

I have tried to install ubuntu with both the 32 and 64 bit from a disk. When I restart the pc the ubuntu screen comes up and asks me to install. I choose start/install. the next thing that happens is a screen comes up with text (loading restricted drivers ... ok, etc) then I get a screen that says <Failed to start the x server would you like to view the x server output to diagnose the problem , yes, no.> I choose yes, it gives me a screen with a bunch of text and <Ok> next it says, <would you like to view the detailed x server output as well? , yes, no,>. I choose yes. More text comes up with <ok>. After this a new screen comes up with < x server is now disable. Restart GDM when it is configured correctly , ok, >. After this i get a command line with <ubuntu@ubuntu:~$>.

I have tried both the normal install, and the start in safe graphics mode install.

I don't know what to do can some one please help me?

try running
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    and choose the nv driver. If you need the proprietary driver take a look at
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Bi...erHowto/Nvidia
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Vergil83
    try running
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    and choose the nv driver. If you need the proprietary driver take a look at
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Bi...erHowto/Nvidia