Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, First up, I'm a complete novice when it comes to this stuff but thought installing Ubuntu would be a good idea and pretty straight forward. I got the cd ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Problem with installing Dapper

Hi,

First up, I'm a complete novice when it comes to this stuff but thought installing Ubuntu would be a good idea and pretty straight forward. I got the cd for version 6.06 and tried to install it on my Dad's laptop. The whole thing froze up at about 95% completion so I tried it again and although I got the initial menu, ie the one with options for starting/installing, memcheck etc. the thing doesn't progress any furrther than the "Uncompressing Linux....Ok, booting kernel" message. Windows won't boot up either and the recovery disc for that stops working when it's "creating partition". Is there anything that I can do to fix this, or is the laptop totally gubbed?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by wee.cloudy
    Is there anything that I can do to fix this, or is the laptop totally gubbed?
    Certainly not, you can have Windows back very easily :
    http://www.tech-recipes.com/windows_...n_tips483.html

About Ubuntu 6.06, I guess the CD is bad. Did you make sure the md5sum :
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/kno...blocksize.html

Compare the md5sum of the .iso you download with the one on Ubuntu's site.

Then make sure you burn the CD image at a low speed (4x).
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

Just Joined!
    Hi