Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hello Everyone! This a very quick question... but does Ubuntu 6.06 have an irqpoll boot feature? If so, how do I go about doing this? Thanks a lot!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    26

    Cool Quick Ubuntu Boot Question


    Hello Everyone! This a very quick question... but does Ubuntu 6.06 have an irqpoll boot feature? If so, how do I go about doing this?

    Thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by webbca01
    Hello Everyone! This a very quick question... but does Ubuntu 6.06 have an irqpoll boot feature? If so, how do I go about doing this?
    Yep it does, it is a kernel parameter, so it is distribution independent.


    To add kernel boot parameters, such as "irqpoll", first edit the file /boot/grub/menu.lst :

    Code:
    sudo nano /boot/grub/menu.lst
    and change this line :

    Quote Originally Posted by /boot/grub/menu.lst
    # defoptions=quiet splash
    so it looks like that :

    Quote Originally Posted by /boot/grub/menu.lst
    # defoptions=quiet splash irqpoll
    And then run

    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    and reboot.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    26
    Ok, another question:

    The reason I asked about this is because of my soundcard not working, and it was suggested to boot into irqpoll (I've done many things to get this stupid thing to work and it hasn't)

    are there any other ideas as to how to make this work?? Thanks a lot!!

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by webbca01
    my soundcard not working
    Can you post your sound card model?

    And the output of
    Code:
    lspci | grep -i audio
    ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    26
    I'm not really 100% sure what my sound card is, i think it is intel based (This is a laptop)

    here's the output for you:
    0000:00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)

    Thanks a bunch

    PS I do beleive you've tried to help me with this same issue when I had it on SuSe.. but the problem was never solved... at the end of the following link, there is info on the whole "irqpoll" if you'd wish to see it.

    (Refer to:http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/sus...rd-errors.html)

    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    26
    so randomly, I try "modinfo snd-intel8x0" (intel8x0 is the module)

    there is a line that looks like this:

    parm: buggy_irq:Enable workaround for buggy interrupts on some motherboards. (bool)

    This isn't anything... is it??? Just throwing it out there

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by webbca01
    I'm not really 100% sure what my sound card is, i think it is intel based (This is a laptop)

    here's the output for you:
    0000:00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
    I have the identical sound card on my laptop (Compaq Presario 2210US) and it was auto-detected by Ubuntu upon instalation.....Is/was your sound card working under That Other Operating System?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    26
    Yes it was working in Windows, but I had to find a driver to install it there.

    I don't know what is going on with my laptop, because theoretically it should be working.

    Also, alsa is all unmuted... though I ran across something recently that said I should mute the external amplifier... but still.. nothing

    is there any other info you need from me?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •