Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
ok I might have bitten off more than I can chew as I am not a coder and have very little experience with coding. I am following this walkthru 2 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    10

    installing ubuntu 6.06 lts


    ok I might have bitten off more than I can chew as I am not a coder and have very little experience with coding.

    I am following this walkthru 2 set up a lamp server

    http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu_6.06_p3

    I am stuck on number 5.configure the network

    I get a readout saying

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    How do I edit to the ip address and mask shown in the walkthrough?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Just open any text editor and enter those values (mentionned in the how-to you pointed out) :
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces
    Instead of "nano", you can use "pico", "vim", etc.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    10

    ok i figured that bit out

    I am starting to understand some of the commands I read this

    http://www.computerhope.com/unix/uvi.htm

    And managed to edit the file correctly. I am now stuck on the part where I have to type

    hostname
    hostname -f
    How do I place both of these commands on two lines in the shell, or do I run hostname first press ENTER and then type hostname -f

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by kinnth
    do I run hostname first press ENTER and then type hostname -f
    Yup, that's it.

    Here is a little tutorial on how to use the command line :
    http://www.ee.surrey.ac.uk/Teaching/Unix/
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    10
    ok cool im getting there!

    I managed to get my computer to have the address

    ubuntu.example.com

    1 step in the right direction

    I would quite like to use putty now are there any good tutorials on how to use that, I am quite confused as to all the options.

    If I want to connect on my local network what details should I supply, as when I enter the ip address 192.168.0.100 and change no settings it does not connect, what settings should I use?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    10
    ok im going insane! far too much computering today I think, I left the ubuntu boot disc in and it booted before it started linux.

    I have removed the boot disc restarted and managed to get in with putty

    top bannana!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Not sure I understand your last post. So everything works now?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1
    Im stuck on this problem too

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    10

    new problem

    Well now I have a new problem its the apt update command, the linux machine cannot connect to the internet. So I did some step backs and got it to obtain ip address automatically and the updates downloaded.

    My question is this

    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.0.100
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.0.0
    broadcast 192.168.0.255
    gateway 192.168.0.1
    This is the standard that the walkthrough provided and I am almost sure that is exactly what my router provides, however I am unsure about the network line, dont know what that means?

    ive provided a screen shot of my router config, was wondering if someone could help to make my ubuntu server static at 192.168.0.100 but still be able to connect to the internet.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    10
    ok now I am a bit confused about what the quota is. I

    quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //quota.user was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
    quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //quota.group was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/hda1 [/] done
    quotacheck: Checked 1753 directories and 24039 files
    This was what the quota chck returned however, I wrote into the quota fstab file /dev/sda1 should I change this to /dev/hda1 as this was what the quota check returned? What does the the fstab file hold?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •