Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
OK guys...let me start by saying I am a COMPLETE noob! That being said, I recently installed Kubuntu 6.06 and am unable to enable my wireless card. I dont believe ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help enabling my wireless card!!! PLEASE!

OK guys...let me start by saying I am a COMPLETE noob!

That being said, I recently installed Kubuntu 6.06 and am unable to enable my wireless card. I dont believe it is a ndiswrapper/driver issue because my wirelss card shows up in the network settings of the KDE Control Center. BUT, when I configure the card with the correct SSID/password and attempt to enable it...it enables for a second and then immediately goes back to disabled.

I believe I have exhausted what limited knowledge/deductive logic that I have and I am in desperate need of help!!!! I love the OS, but if I cant get to the internet I might have to go back to that other OS...

Anyways here is some info that might help:
    -Kubuntu 6.06
    -Card: Buffalo Turbo G Air Station WLI2-PCI-54S
    -I can successfully ping 127.0.0.1
    -sudo iwconfig returns:
    lo no wireless
    eth0 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"My ID" Nickname:"Broadcom 430
    Mode: Managed Access Point: Invalid Bit rate=1mb/s
    RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Encryption key: My key Security mode:open
    Link quality: 0 Signal Level: 0 Noise Level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 RX invalid crpt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

eth1 no wireless extensions

I know you have probably seen this before and this is a total noob question, but I am going nuts trying to figure this out...any information anyone can provided would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Assuming you have the correct Windows driver installed correctly via ndiswrapper, when you do...
    Code:
    /sbin/lsmod
    ...do you see ndiswrapper there? If not do...
    Code: