Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello folks. I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general.I have seccessfuly loaded Dapper Drake onto a spare drive in my Power Mac G4.I now have a dual boot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question Connecting to the web....

Hello folks.
    I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general.I have seccessfuly loaded Dapper Drake onto a spare drive in my Power Mac G4.I now have a dual boot su=sytem that appears to be very stable.My printer,scanner,usb periphs,all work fine.
    I installed WiFi and my Airort Extrem card is now recognized along with my network.However,I can nt connect to the internet.Where do I fix this and how?
    I tried the vsrious network apps under the Admin menu by entering the same info that I have under my network prefs for OS X.This does not seem to be working.Any ideas,especially from those who may have a dual boot Mac setup
    BTW,I sam still able to access the web under OS X,so it's not a hradware issue (I don't think )

thanx folks!

Juan

You may have to manually give yourself an ip address and a subnet mask and all that other good stuff if you don't have dhcp enabled for your network.
    Two levels higher than a newb.
    (I can search google)

Quote Originally Posted by Dark_Stang
    You may have to manually give yourself an ip address and a subnet mask and all that other good stuff if you don't have dhcp enabled for your network.

Thanx for the response.
    I got the ip and subnet.What exactly is dhcp and how do I find out if it is enabled for my network?
    I have Verizon Broadband and all they seem to know about concerning networks and the web is Windows.
    Thanx again
    Juan

Dual Booting Dapper/OS X

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close