Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
does anyone know how to install a windows based software on ubuntu? i have WINE, but I have no clue how to use it. can anyone explain in detail how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

windows programs on ubuntu

does anyone know how to install a windows based software on ubuntu? i have WINE, but I have no clue how to use it. can anyone explain in detail how to do that please? i am new to ubuntu, so yeah, haha
    thanks in advance.

Smile

hi tupadjia !!!

Wine can be run like any other X program: you can run it from the command line:

to install windows software....

$ wine <setup file> like $ wine setup.exe

to run program...

$ wine <program exe> like $ wine sol

or you can put it in a menu, or launch it from a file manager. When launched, programs run and act as if they were running under Windows. By default, applications come up in a special kind of window that looks very much like those provided by Windows instead of looking like other X windows. It looks as if a normal Windows window popped up in the middle of all your X windows, because your window manager doesn't put a standard "frame" on the window. Unfortunately, those windows do not interact well with virtual window managers like fvwm (they don't go away when you switch to another virtual screen), so there is an option to bring up an X window that contains the application window, and this is well-behaved with virtual window managers.

<=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Linux User
    Hi tupadjia,
    Read the following Wine User Guide given in their website : -

http://www.winehq.com/site/docs/wineusr-guide/index

Always, do some search before posting any questions.

With Regards,
    Thinker

Just Joined!