Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I am completely new to using Linux. I installed ubuntu 6.06 for the PowerPC on my PowerBook G4 to experiment with it. However, I got in over my head. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with Mac OS X + ubuntu

Hi. I am completely new to using Linux. I installed ubuntu 6.06 for the PowerPC on my PowerBook G4 to experiment with it. However, I got in over my head. I have a better than average grasp on using OS X, but I have very little experience using command line based operating systems. Because of this, I have a two part question. I have not been able to access the internet through the wireless network in my house (three other macs currently have working connections to the same network). I have been able to log on using an ethernet connection, leaving my desktop computer unconnected. After doing some google searches, I was still unable to get Wireless Assistant to recognize a wireless network. Since it is a necessity for me to have a wireless connection, I am looking to do one of two things. The first would be able to establish a wireless connection through ubuntu without having to revert to OS X. If anyone would be willing to walk me through the steps of establishing this connection, I would be more than grateful.