Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
thats my old grub configuration Code: # grub.conf generated by anaconda # # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file # NOTICE: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    grub.conf


    thats my old grub configuration

    Code:
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    #          root (hd0,1)
    #          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
    #          initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
    	root (hd0,1)
    	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
    	initrd /initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img
    title Other
    	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    	chainloader +1

  2. #12
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    grub.conf new

    and that is my new grub.conf.tell me if there is something wrong!!!!!!!!!



    Code:
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    #          root (hd0,1)
    #          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
    #          initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
    	root (hd0,1)
    	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
    	initrd /initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img
    title Other
    	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    	chainloader +1
    title Ubuntu
            root (hdX,Y)
            kernel /boot/vmlinuz

    are you sure that is right????
    are you sure that nothing is missing???

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    That's not right, since you need to change (hdX,Y) to wherever Ubuntu is installed (i.e. (hd0,0)).

    Also, this will only work as long as Ubuntu doesn't have a separate /boot partition. If you install it with a separate /boot partition, rather than pointing (hdX,Y) to where Ubuntu is installed, you need to point it to that /boot.

    I recommend that you simply install Ubuntu as you would, and then look at Ubuntu's /boot/grub/grub.conf. That will have all the correct settings. Then you can simply copy the Ubuntu section to the grub.conf you already have.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi jan !!!

    title Ubuntu
    root (hdX,Y)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz
    this is not right in any way. first of install Ubuntu... open Ubuntu's grub.conf file and copy all the details... then as 'Cabhan' wrote... use grub-install command on terminal to re-install Fedora's Grub. post Ubuntu's Grub file here....




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #15
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok i have an older computer ill install ubuntu onliy and than i will copy grub.conf from that ubuntu.Thank you for your help.

  7. #16
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    I don't know why to complicate so much, when I want to triboot I just install Ubuntu at last and the installer automatically detects the OSes you are running and setup a grub installation to the MBR with the three OSes

    Note: This worked in Breezy (with the nice text install!) but not sure about Dapper
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  8. #17
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Here's a triboot tutorial that one of our members wrote:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...-computer.html

    I've never used it so I don't know how well it works.
    oz

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •