Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
i would like to know which bootloader does ubuntu have. I alredy have dual-boot with windows and fedora core.is it ok if i only intall ubuntu without boot loaderand then ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    Red face triple-boot


    i would like to know which bootloader does ubuntu have.
    I alredy have dual-boot with windows and fedora core.is it ok if i only intall ubuntu without boot loaderand then open a GRUBs terminal and type
    Code:
    mkdir -p /mnt/ubuntu
    Code:
    mount /dev/hdax /mnt/ubuntu
    will that work?Do i have to do something else?like reinstalling or updating bootloader?

    or should i delete GRUB (i dont know how)and install ubuntu s bootloader?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    So Ubuntu uses GRUB as well, but unfortunately, you cannot choose to not install it. You have the choice of simply modifying Ubuntu's grub.conf to boot from the others, or overwriting with the GRUB you already had, and simply adding Ubuntu to it. I recommend doing the latter.

    To do this is simple. Boot into Fedora, and open a commandline. Become root. Run the command:
    Code:
    grub-install /dev/hda
    This will overwrite Ubuntu's GRUB with your old one. You now need to add details on booting Ubuntu to your grub.conf. Open the file /boot/grub/grub.conf with your favorite text editor and add:
    Code:
    title=Ubuntu
    root (hdX,Y)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz
    (note: I assume that the kernel is called 'vmlinuz', but it may be called something like 'kernel-2-6-13-i386' or something like that. Examine Ubuntu's grub.conf in order to find out what the kernel is called)

  3. #3
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    re

    ok if i understood i have to:

    1)install ubuntu
    2)boot into fedora core
    3)type that in command line
    Code:
    grub-install /dev/hda
    4)open boot>grub>grub.conf
    5)add this text
    Code:
    title=Ubuntu
    root (hdX,Y)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz
    6)save the file

    is that correct


    i have a problem:
    i cannot open grub.conf
    acess deined i think that i have no permission.
    can i open it from terminal by typing
    Code:
    /boot/grub/grub.conf

  4. #4
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    i have one more question:
    in the grub.conf
    this line:
    root (hdX,Y) does x means a number?
    an can i run that in terminal?

    /boot/grub/grub.conf

    thanks for your help

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Yes, (hdX,Y) is a number. GRUB uses a 0-based system, so the 1st partition on the first drive (what we usually call hda1) will be: '(hd0,0)'. The 3rd partition of the 2nd drive (usually hdb3) would be: '(hd1,2)'.

    To open a file, you can use a GUI editor such as kate (KDE) or gedit (GNOME), or a commandline editor (nano, vi, Emacs, etc.). Use whichever one you're most comfortable with.

  6. #6
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok so if i have ubuntu installed on hda3 i have to write /dev/hda3 or /dev/hda3.3????
    the problem is that i cannot open grub.conf with gedit.i have no permission!
    can i run that from terminal by typing

    su
    gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf

    will it work?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    GAH. I forgot that it's a root-only file . Try this from a commandline:
    Code:
    su
    <enter root password>
    
    gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf
    And if Ubuntu is on hda3, then in the grub.conf, you'll say (hd0,2).

  8. #8
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    how do you know what do you have to say?is there any trick?i mean how to count that?

  9. #9
    Just Joined! Catsworth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    45
    I'm guessing that the counting starts from zero:

    hda = 0
    hdb = 1

    The same would happen for the partitions:

    partition 1 = 0
    partition 2 = 1
    partition 3 = 2

    So we can see that:

    hda partition 3 (hda3) = hd0,2


    I think that's right, I could be wrong though

  10. #10
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    so hda5 is hd0,4 right?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •