Find the answer to your Linux question:
hey,i'm very new to this.i have a g4 867mhz,1.5gb ram,running osx 10.4.7;have just downloaded ubuntu 6.06 desktop-powerpc.iso. i burned it,but can't figure out how to install it. any help would ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ubuntu 6.06

hey,i'm very new to this.i have a g4 867mhz,1.5gb ram,running osx 10.4.7;have just downloaded ubuntu 6.06 desktop-powerpc.iso. i burned it,but can't figure out how to install it.
    any help would be appreciated,

mojack

You burned it as an iso image, right? If you did just stick it in the CD drive and reboot the computer. It will load Ubuntu as a live cd and allow you to install it. If it doesn't boot from the cd you'll have to go edit the boot order in the BIOS.

Do you allready have the hard drive partitioned? Do you know what you need to do?
    Two levels higher than a newb.
    (I can search google)

Just Joined!

ubuntu

yes, i burned it as an iso,but i can't do anything with it. i can't find anything on the disc which looks like a macintosh install icon,it doesn't show up in the startup disk control panel. i have a 25gb partition. thanks,
    mojack

You only have one partition? Well, that's fine I suppose, you can split that up into the other partitions you'll need/want when you install it.

You need to reboot the computer with the ubuntu cd in it. As the computer is starting up it should load off the ubuntu cd. When it loads there will be two icons on the desktop. Examples and Install. Double click install and off you go.

If it doesn't boot, you'll need to alter your boot order in the bios.

For the partitions you'll probably want something like...
    Linux Swap - most people recomend 2x your memory
    / - (root) - 5 gigs will be more than enough. root is the actual ubuntu system and all the programs.