Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I am brand new to Linux although a did have a couple courses in Solaris administration a few years ago. I downloaded both the Desktop and Server edition of Ubuntu ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Justin Bezanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7

    Ubuntu 6.06


    I am brand new to Linux although a did have a couple courses in Solaris administration a few years ago.

    I downloaded both the Desktop and Server edition of Ubuntu 6.06.

    I installed the Server and then realised it was all command line. Is it hard to manage a ubuntu server through command line (remember I am a complete noob).

    On the other hand am I able to install the Desktop version and still configure it to run as a web server? I realise I would lose some performace for using the Desktop GUI but I am fine with that...the PC was formerly a Win/Apache server so just switching to Ubuntu should give me more performance than before.

    Thanks for the help and advice.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    I'm not an Ubuntu guru, but I believe you can get the desktop on your server installation by running apt-get install ubuntu-desktop.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Justin Bezanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7
    thanks I'll give that a try.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    637
    However, the most expedient method would be to install the desktop verons (you already have) ans simply install apache2, mysql, php etc.. via apt-get.

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    637
    Too many thumbs, sorry for the typo. "Verons" was meant to be version in reference to the above post. It's Monday!

  7. #6
    Just Joined! Justin Bezanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker98
    However, the most expedient method would be to install the desktop verons (you already have) ans simply install apache2, mysql, php etc.. via apt-get.
    that is what I was wondering if I could do. Thanks

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    107
    You should be able to apt-get install whichever desktop environment you want. I never cared for all the stuff that ubuntu installed so I use to do a 'server' install and then install exactly what I wanted or needed including just a base gnome install so I didn't end up with openoffice and gaim and yada yada...

  9. #8
    Just Joined! Justin Bezanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by deanlinkous
    You should be able to apt-get install whichever desktop environment you want. I never cared for all the stuff that ubuntu installed so I use to do a 'server' install and then install exactly what I wanted or needed including just a base gnome install so I didn't end up with openoffice and gaim and yada yada...
    I don't suppose...me being a Linux noob and all...that you would have a link to a good tutorial to install a desktop this way do you...or even soem exapmples of using apt-get.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    107
    Well since you are a noob

    Here is some reading
    http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/de...ml#s-apt-usage
    http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/ap...pt-get.en.html

    You could try these commands if you wish, at your own risk. I am not running ubuntu so I have not tried these but they should work. should!

    TO INSTALL THE XUBUNTU DESKTOP WITH XFCE
    (if you are running as root)
    apt-get update
    apt-get install x-window-system xserver-xorg gdm xubuntu-desktop

    (not running as root)
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install x-window-system xserver-xorg gdm xubuntu-desktop


    TO INSTALL GNOME CORE - about as lite as you can get gnome
    (if you are running as root)
    apt-get update
    apt-get install x-window-system xserver-xorg gdm gnome-core

    (not running as root)
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install x-window-system xserver-xorg gdm gnome-core

  11. #10
    Just Joined! Justin Bezanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7
    This is great! Thanks very much.

    I have done some reading on the ubuntuforums.org and learned that GNOME is the default desktop for Ubuntu and that my specs are indeed to slow for this but on the other hand XFCE should run decently...it is only a test server after all. I'll mostly only be using it to test software upgrades and test configurations before apllying to my web server.

    Thanks again,

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •