Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am brand new to Linux although a did have a couple courses in Solaris administration a few years ago. I downloaded both the Desktop and Server edition of Ubuntu ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Ubuntu 6.06

I am brand new to Linux although a did have a couple courses in Solaris administration a few years ago.

I downloaded both the Desktop and Server edition of Ubuntu 6.06.

I installed the Server and then realised it was all command line. Is it hard to manage a ubuntu server through command line (remember I am a complete noob).

On the other hand am I able to install the Desktop version and still configure it to run as a web server? I realise I would lose some performace for using the Desktop GUI but I am fine with that...the PC was formerly a Win/Apache server so just switching to Ubuntu should give me more performance than before.

Thanks for the help and advice.

I'm not an Ubuntu guru, but I believe you can get the desktop on your server installation by running apt-get install ubuntu-desktop.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

thanks I'll give that a try.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Enthusiast
    However, the most expedient method would be to install the desktop verons (you already have) ans simply install apache2, mysql, php etc.. via apt-get.

Linux Enthusiast
    Too many thumbs, sorry for the typo. "Verons" was meant to be version in reference to the above post. It's Monday!

Quote Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker98
    However, the most expedient method would be to install the desktop verons (you already have) ans simply install apache2, mysql, php etc.. via apt-get.
    that is what I was wondering if I could do. Thanks

Linux Newbie