Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36
I typed it in but it gives me an error Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    77

    I typed it in but it gives me an error

    Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi kbsuperstar !!

    i think you have a SATA disk ...
    use sda instead of hda...

    sudo /sbin/grub-install /dev/sda

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    77
    That doesn't make any sense because /dev/sda is my external HD. I need to load GRUB back onto my internal HD, but I don't know exactly how to do that.

    sudo fdisk -l brings up the following

    Code:
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hda1               1        2860    22972918+  83  Linux
    /dev/hda2   *        2861        3497     5116702+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/hda3            3498        3649     1220940    5  Extended
    /dev/hda5            3498        3649     1220908+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 100.2 GB, 100256292864 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12188 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1       11549    92759310    b  W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda2           11549       11694     1164681+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda3           11694       12188     3976087   83  Linux

  4. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi kbsuperstar !!

    did you create a new partition before windows ????
    your active boot partition is hda2 now... hmmm.......
    are you able to boot up windows ???? or even Ubuntu ??

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #15
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    hey kbsuperstar
    i told you to resize /dev/hda1 not 2

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    77
    Yes, I created a new partition before windows before I installed it (/dev/hda2) and I can boot up into Windows.

    I need to be able to boot up with GRUB, not windows, but I don't know where/how to install GRUB. Someone please help.

    When I try to type
    Code:
    sudo /sbin/grub-install /dev/hda(1/2)
    it just returns
    Code:
    Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device.
    This really worries me because I need to be able to get back into Ubuntu (/dev/hda1) eventually.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    77
    I did resize /dev/hda1. it's 5GB smaller than it used to be

  8. #18
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi kbsuperstar !!

    right now your hda2 is active primary partition... you have to make hda1 active...
    boot up through Ubuntu LiveCD...
    on terminal type this command..
    $ sudo fdisk /dev/hda
    type a Enter
    type 1 Enter
    type w Enter

    reboot...
    again boot up through Ubuntu LiveCD and type this command
    sudo /sbin/grub-install /dev/hda

    reboot...

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    77
    Code:
    Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device.
    Didn't work

  10. #20
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi kbsuperstar !!

    post output of fdisk -l again... i think you didnt change active partition...
    check the * in output..

    /dev/hda1 1 2860 22972918+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 * 2861 3497 5116702+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    it should be after /dev/hda1...

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •