Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Need to re-partition Linux

I'm trying to repartition my internal HD so I can free-up 5GB in order to install Windows XP. What do I need to shrink my Linux partition 5GB? I have GParted and the GParted live CD, but on GParted it doesn't allow me to shrink my /dev/hda1, which is currently partitioned entirely for Ubuntu. With the live CD, i try to boot but all it says is "hw_random not detected," or something like that. Any good + safe apps available to shrink my Linux partition?

backup?

You probably already knew this, but before you move any partitions, make sure you have your stuff backed up. I recently moved a bunch of mine around and almost lost everything.

have you tried QTparted? or Partimage?

I'm new at this, but I've used qtparted and it seems to work pretty well. Partimage isn't to move things around, it's copies your partitions, but it could be useful as well.

hi kbsuperstar !!

duojet is correct ... QTparted is for handling partitions and PartImage is for copy.. like Norton Ghost...
    well !! i dont recommend you to shrink linux partition.. if you wanna do it then atleast back up all your data... best way is "install windows first and then go for linux"...
    you already installed linux, after installing windows, you might struck in dual booting...
    good luck !!!

<=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Are you in fact using the GParted Live CD as a boot CD? I just ask that because I made that mistake. Are you setting your system BIOS to boot from the GParted Live CD during startup? Like I say, it's just that I made the same mistake. It has to be such that the two drives are operating separately.