Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I want to be able to use GRUB to dual boot; right now I have Ubuntu installed and on a partition of 25GB, and Windows is installed on a 5GB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    77

    Add windows to GRUB


    I want to be able to use GRUB to dual boot; right now I have Ubuntu installed and on a partition of 25GB, and Windows is installed on a 5GB partition. I thought that after reinstalling GRUB Windows would already be selectable, but it appears not.

    First, let me show you what my partition setup is like:

    Code:
    Disk /dev/hda: 30.0 GB, 30020272128 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3649 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hda1   *           1        2860    22972918+  83  Linux
    /dev/hda2   *        2861        3497     5116702+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/hda3            3498        3649     1220940    5  Extended
    /dev/hda5            3498        3649     1220908+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    Notice that both /hda1 (linux) and /hda2 (windows) are "active." Is this how I should have it set?

    I believe that I have to edit /boot/grub/menu.lst in order to be able to boot Windows. Here's what that file looks like:

    Code:
    # menu.lst - See: grub(8), info grub, update-grub(8)
    #            grub-install(8), grub-floppy(8),
    #            grub-md5-crypt, /usr/share/doc/grub
    #            and /usr/share/doc/grub-doc/.
    
    ## default num
    # Set the default entry to the entry number NUM. Numbering starts from 0, and
    # the entry number 0 is the default if the command is not used.
    #
    # You can specify 'saved' instead of a number. In this case, the default entry
    # is the entry saved with the command 'savedefault'.
    # WARNING: If you are using dmraid do not change this entry to 'saved' or your
    # array will desync and will not let you boot your system.
    default		0
    
    ## timeout sec
    # Set a timeout, in SEC seconds, before automatically booting the default entry
    # (normally the first entry defined).
    timeout		3
    
    ## hiddenmenu
    # Hides the menu by default (press ESC to see the menu)
    hiddenmenu
    
    # Pretty colours
    #color cyan/blue white/blue
    
    ## password ['--md5'] passwd
    # If used in the first section of a menu file, disable all interactive editing
    # control (menu entry editor and command-line)  and entries protected by the
    # command 'lock'
    # e.g. password topsecret
    #      password --md5 $1$gLhU0/$aW78kHK1QfV3P2b2znUoe/
    # password topsecret
    
    #
    # examples
    #
    # title		Windows 95/98/NT/2000
    # root		(hd0,0)
    # makeactive
    # chainloader	+1
    #
    # title		Linux
    # root		(hd0,1)
    # kernel	/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 ro
    #
    
    #
    # Put static boot stanzas before and/or after AUTOMAGIC KERNEL LIST
    
    ### BEGIN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
    ## lines between the AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST markers will be modified
    ## by the debian update-grub script except for the default options below
    
    ## DO NOT UNCOMMENT THEM, Just edit them to your needs
    
    ## ## Start Default Options ##
    ## default kernel options
    ## default kernel options for automagic boot options
    ## If you want special options for specific kernels use kopt_x_y_z
    ## where x.y.z is kernel version. Minor versions can be omitted.
    ## e.g. kopt=root=/dev/hda1 ro
    ##      kopt_2_6_8=root=/dev/hdc1 ro
    ##      kopt_2_6_8_2_686=root=/dev/hdc2 ro
    # kopt=root=/dev/hda1 ro
    
    ## default grub root device
    ## e.g. groot=(hd0,0)
    # groot=(hd0,0)
    
    ## should update-grub create alternative automagic boot options
    ## e.g. alternative=true
    ##      alternative=false
    # alternative=true
    
    ## should update-grub lock alternative automagic boot options
    ## e.g. lockalternative=true
    ##      lockalternative=false
    # lockalternative=false
    
    ## additional options to use with the default boot option, but not with the
    ## alternatives
    ## e.g. defoptions=vga=791 resume=/dev/hda5
    # defoptions=quiet splash
    
    ## altoption boot targets option
    ## multiple altoptions lines are allowed
    ## e.g. altoptions=(extra menu suffix) extra boot options
    ##      altoptions=(recovery mode) single
    # altoptions=(recovery mode) single
    
    ## controls how many kernels should be put into the menu.lst
    ## only counts the first occurence of a kernel, not the
    ## alternative kernel options
    ## e.g. howmany=all
    ##      howmany=7
    # howmany=all
    
    ## should update-grub create memtest86 boot option
    ## e.g. memtest86=true
    ##      memtest86=false
    # memtest86=true
    
    ## should update-grub adjust the value of the default booted system
    ## can be true or false
    # updatedefaultentry=false
    
    ## ## End Default Options ##
    
    title		Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.15-26-386
    root		(hd0,0)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-26-386 root=/dev/hda1 ro quiet splash
    initrd		/boot/initrd.img-2.6.15-26-386
    savedefault
    boot
    
    title		Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.15-26-386 (recovery mode)
    root		(hd0,0)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-26-386 root=/dev/hda1 ro single
    initrd		/boot/initrd.img-2.6.15-26-386
    boot
    
    title		Ubuntu, memtest86+
    root		(hd0,0)
    kernel		/boot/memtest86+.bin 
    boot
    
    ### END DEBIAN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST
    Could someone please tell me what to insert? I have been searching Google and other forums, but everyone else seems to have Windows as the first partition on their HD, meaning I can't use their exact mapping to edit menu.lst. Keep in mind that Windows is /hda2 if you provide me with the code to entire into menu.lst (which is what I would like )

    Please and thank you!

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Try adding this below the Linux entries:

    Code:
    title		Windows 95
    root		(hd0,1)
    makeactive
    chainloader	+1
    Let us know if it works.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12
    Someone told me this in the thread on this page about re-partioning for Windows- apparently it had to do with the fact that the installation of Windows somehow destroys the grub. I haven't tried this myself but it seems to apply:

    yes after installing xp you should boot into Ubuntu live cd and than open a termenal and type

    Code:
    sudo /sbin/grub-install /dev/hda

    that will install a bootloader

  4. #4
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    hi cautious
    kbsuperstar has alredy reinstalled bootloader

  5. #5
    Just Joined! linuxrcks!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    California, USA (Sucks!)
    Posts
    21
    Who's in charge of the MBR? Thats where Grub has to be installed.

  6. #6
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    hi linuxrcks!
    when typing
    Code:
    sudo /sbin/grub-install /dev/hda
    GRUB installs on MBR(Master Boot Record)of /dev/hda

  7. #7
    Just Joined! linuxrcks!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    California, USA (Sucks!)
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by jan1024188
    hi linuxrcks!
    when typing
    Code:
    sudo /sbin/grub-install /dev/hda
    GRUB installs on MBR(Master Boot Record)of /dev/hda1
    HI again! Are you followin' me?! lol! How in the heck did you do that code thing?

  8. #8
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    hi linuxrcks!
    no im not following you...im just trying to give right answers

  9. #9
    Just Joined! linuxrcks!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    California, USA (Sucks!)
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by jan1024188
    hi linuxrcks!
    no im not following you...im just trying to give right answers
    COOL! but ya did'nt tell me how you do the code thingy! I hit the # sign but I dont get the code box.

  10. #10
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    hi linuxrcks!
    this is not a cheat room(for chat please go on linuxforums channel on freenode)or visit http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/coffee-lounge/
    for entering code you will find # next to quote(its not sign on your keyboard)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •