Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
sorry about the confusion. I tried unplugging the first disk and it would not boot. For some reason now, it will not boot at all. I am using the live ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Az.
    Posts
    128

    sorry about the confusion.

    I tried unplugging the first disk and it would not boot.

    For some reason now, it will not boot at all. I am using the live cd to get up and on the internet. I need to get it to boot off of the first disk to change any files. I tried installing on the first disk and it still will not boot.

    As I said, a message regarding not being able to mount the first disk prevents boot-up at the moment.

    Hope I'm being clear

    Thanks

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    HI !

    you have LiveCD.... Plug-in second disk as master... remove first disk... boot up through LiveCD...

    open /boot/grub/menu.lst
    delete reference of first disk from menu.lst...
    on terminal, execute this command...

    $ sudo grub-install /dev/hda

    post the output of this command........




    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Az.
    Posts
    128
    ok, the following info

    upon boot from the live cd a message comes up on the list that says "mount: function not implemented

    Live cd boot normally except for that.

    Since I cannot mount hda (I plugged the second drive in as directed as the master) I cannot edit the grub/menu.lst that is there. The only grub/menu.lst is empty since I am using the live cd.

    Below is the content from the grub install instruction.

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo grub-install /dev/hda
    Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device.
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

    If I go into system>administration>disks and click on partition the disk is inaccessable, there is no path and the disable button is greyed out because the disk is unmounted. Perhaps I need a path???

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !

    try to mount manually...

    boot up through LiveCd...
    $ mkdir /media/second
    $ mount -t ext3 /dev/hda1 /media/second
    $ ls /media/second

    now you will have access to harddisk and menu.lst file.....



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Az.
    Posts
    128
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mkdir /media/second
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ mount -t ext3 /dev/hda1 /media/second
    mount: only root can do that
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/hda1 /media/second
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ ls /media/second
    bin dev initrd.img.old opt sys vmlinuz
    boot etc lib proc tmp vmlinuz.old
    cdrom home lost+found root usplash_fifo
    debian-binary initrd media sbin usr
    debootstrap initrd.img mnt srv var
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

    This is the result so far, menu.lst still empty. Do I have to recreate one and save it?

  7. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Hi !

    according to your prompt, (ubuntu@ubuntu:~), you are not checking second disk's menu.lst.... its LiveCD's menu.lst.......

    $ cd /media/second/boot/grub

    now check menu.lst file

    $ sudo gedit menu.lst



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #17
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Az.
    Posts
    128
    getting "invalid or damaged bootable partition" when booting.

    I'm not sure if the second drive kernel is 2.6.15-26 or -27 if that matters.

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.15-26-386
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-26-386 root=/dev/hda1 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.15-26-386
    savedefault
    boot

    title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.15-26-386 (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-26-386 root=/dev/hda1 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.15-26-386
    boot

    title Ubuntu, memtest86+
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/memtest86+,bin
    boot

    since creating a mount point I am able to view the partition properties in system>administration>disks.

  9. #18
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !

    menu.lst is correct and you should be able to re-install GRUB and boot up through second disk...

    whats in /media/second/boot/grub/device.map ?
    it should be "(hd0) /dev/hda".
    if there is something else then change that with (hd0) /dev/hda.

    re-install GRUB ......



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Tucson, Az.
    Posts
    128
    results

    (hd0) /dev/hda
    (hd1) /dev/hdb
    (hd2) /dev/sdb


    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ cd /media/second/boot/grub
    ubuntu@ubuntu:/media/second/boot/grub$ sudo gedit /media/second/boot/grub/device.map
    ubuntu@ubuntu:/media/second/boot/grub$ sudo grub-install /dev/hda
    Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
    Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device.
    ubuntu@ubuntu:/media/second/boot/grub$ cd
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo grub-install /dev/hda
    Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device.
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

  11. #20
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    (hd0) /dev/hda
    (hd1) /dev/hdb
    (hd2) /dev/sdb
    delete last two lines.... and try again...
    your problem should be solved in five minutes but GRUB re-install is creating problems.... post the output of

    sudo fdisk -l ....its small 'L'



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •