Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm completely new to Linux, and have been struggling to install Ubuntu for a couple of weeks now. I want to dual boot it alongside Win98 on my rather aging ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Ubuntu Install Problems

I'm completely new to Linux, and have been struggling to install Ubuntu for a couple of weeks now. I want to dual boot it alongside Win98 on my rather aging machine. I've got plenty of disc space (I've just installed a 250GB HD, but Win98 only sees 130 odd GB, so the rest is empty space onto which I can put Linux).

But the live CD just goes to sleep when I try to install it, and won't install at all (although I can install it OK onto an old HD on its own). So I tried the 'alternative' CD, and this seems to install fine. But when I reboot, GRUB fails, and I just end up with a locked up command line saying GRUB_ with a rapidly flashing cursor that won't respond to any input and won't boot into anything. The only way I can figure out of this is to reinstall Windows, overwriting the MBR, which at least means I can get into Windows. This has happened several time now.

But presumably Ubuntu is still there. If I could get GRUB to work, I could boot into that as well. Is there a way to install just that part, from either CD?

Perhaps your BIOS hasn't been updated in a while and doesn't like big hard drives. Check your motherboard/computer manufacturer's site to make sure you have the latest version.

Even Win98 should see the whole disk with no problem.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Even Win98 should see the whole disk with no problem.