Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Okay, I bought a Dell(well, my mum did) a long time ago, Dimension 2350, I recently installed SuSE 10.1 on it, then I installed fedora core 5, then Mandriva 07, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    30

    Re-installing Windows XP Home Edition SP2 from Ubuntu(or any of my other distros)


    Okay, I bought a Dell(well, my mum did) a long time ago, Dimension 2350, I recently installed SuSE 10.1 on it, then I installed fedora core 5, then Mandriva 07, and last Ubuntu

    I want to put Windows back on it, but when I insert the disc-reboot- boot from disc all I get is a blank screen, Please help

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    You should check that the disk is not damaged and that the boot order is set correctly in the BIOS. Having Linux installed won't have any effect on a bootable disk. Also if you have two drives make sure that you try booting from both as some motherboards will only boot from one device/channel.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    installing Windows after Linux is very tricky. windows need 'primary partition'. you can install Windows in Logical too but that would add more complications.

    first of all create a primary partition for windows. boot up through windows 98 bootable floppy and type 'fdisk /mbr' at prompt ( A:\> ). you can download bootable floppy from www.bootdisk.com. Windows installation CD would work after fixing MBR. install Windows.
    you have to install GRUB again. boot up through Ubuntu CD and type 'sudo grub-install /dev/hda'. add an entry for windows in menu.lst file.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    30
    Well, I have to XP Discs(my mum's and mine) and I tried them both, neither worked, and as for BIOS- 1. Start Computer, 2. f12 for boot Menu, 3. IDE CD-ROM device

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Well, I have to XP Discs(my mum's and mine) and I tried them both, neither worked, and as for BIOS- 1. Start Computer, 2. f12 for boot Menu, 3. IDE CD-ROM device
    in many cases, XP CD doesn't work at all. you have to fix MBR first.



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    in many cases, XP CD doesn't work at all. you have to fix MBR first.



    casper
    Okay, I hate to bother you further but I am a terrible noob, I can follow directions rather well, but out of curiosity, what is MBR?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    MBR is Master Boot Record, first sector of HardDisk. Boot Loader ( GRUB ) is installed in MBR. XP disk is not booting up coz of that. 'fdisk /mbr' command will overwrite MBR and XP CD will work after that.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    MBR is Master Boot Record, first sector of HardDisk. Boot Loader ( GRUB ) is installed in MBR. XP disk is not booting up coz of that. 'fdisk /mbr' command will overwrite MBR and XP CD will work after that.





    casper
    Wow, I think I understood that, jesus, I feel like Charlie gordon, thank you so much, I just downloaded a 98 bootdisc, but I had to download it on the dell(I'm speaking from my Main rig/Gaming computer, it has no floppy drive)

    Also, the bootdisk is a .exe Should I just Drag and drop it into the floppy drive?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    double click on .exe file. it will ask for blank floppy and will make it bootable. i think you know that exe files can be executed in Windows machine only.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    If it is as .exe file it most likely is a self extracting image. I think in that case you will need to write it to a floppy using Windows. If that fails it may wrk under WINE.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •