Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
i have ubunto and am having problems login like root in when i shall do some networke configurations in kde, it just say "su returnd an error" and i need ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    su problems


    i have ubunto and am having problems login like root in when i shall do some networke configurations in kde, it just say "su returnd an error"
    and i need to log in as root to get my wierless network card to worke.
    pleas help me..

    btw. i am a beginer with linux so pleas try to use an esy explanation,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    use 'sudo' instead of 'su'.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5
    i am not writing in the termenal, it is in kde in /system setings /network setings

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    okk... in Ubuntu there isn't any root account and you can get root privileges through 'sudo'.
    in Network Settings, click on 'Administrative Mode' button and enter 'root' password. by default, root password is same as of the password of first Normal User created during Ubuntu installation.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5
    but thats what i hav don, and then it just say "su retund an error"

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    what error ? 'incorrect password'
    did you set new root password?




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5
    it dosent say anything more than "su returned an error" and i cant log go in to administrative mode.

    i know that i have not chanced the pasword, it worked yesterday

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    is sudo working? in terminal, type this command

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    is this command accepting root password and showing output?



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5

    pardon my dust, casper

    Can I create a user and give it root privileges? I ask because I'm having problems similar to what's being discussed here.

    I did the network info logon you suggested and got root privileges that way. But I'd like to have a user with root privileges. Is that possible?

    I'm basically a Windows guy. Ive been on Xandros for about six months, quit them and decided to give Ubuntu a try.

    Any help you can give me. . . .

  10. #10
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    sudo passwd root
    to activate the root user, then you can use "su" as normal with the new password
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •