Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, I am a Linux newbie, I use Ubuntu 6.06. I have set up a dual monitor on my PC. My LCD wide screen is connected to a Nvidia card ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31

    Dual monitor problem.


    Hi,

    I am a Linux newbie, I use Ubuntu 6.06.

    I have set up a dual monitor on my PC. My LCD wide screen is connected to a Nvidia card and the CRT is connected to the Intel onboard video. They can work as two seperate monitors (I guess what's called dual head.) or can be in Xinerama mode.

    Here are a the questions:
    When they work seperately, I can drag the mouse from one monitor to another, but I CAN'T drag a window to the other monitor. How do I fix this?

    Also, is it possible for each monitor to have its own desktop pictures?

    Thanks in advance.

    MacPC

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31
    No taker on this question?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21
    have some patience friend,

    ill start with what i can help you with, good news before bad.

    Yes, You can have different desktops , if X is working like in mine (one thing i know is there is many ways to accomplish things in linux) then you should be able to change the picture.

    On Kubuntu, Move to that monitor, right click, select properties or background, and change picture

    On other Ubuntu's just move to the second monitor and change it how you would your primary (not 100% sure on this).

    Now for the other thing.

    As far as i know you can't, i'd love this feature to.

    That being said, someone somewhere knows how to do it, you've just gotta find them.


    PS. if you ever find out how to in your googling etc, post here, I'd love to be able to do that aswell.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31
    Thanks for the reply bojo. I am just eager to try out the features available on Ubuntu.

    "On Kubuntu, Move to that monitor, right click, select properties or background, and change picture "

    I can't do this in Ubuntu, once right click the change bkg, it changes both bkg, I wonder if there is something in the xorg.conf I am not doing correctly? On my Windows box, I can do this by using the nView Manager, it doesn't seem like there is an equivalent for Linux. The closest thing I found is nvidia-settings, which doesn't give that option.

    "Now for the other thing. As far as i know you can't, i'd love this feature to."

    That's a bummer. Even Windows can do it. There must be a way. I am surprised that how lack of infomation on the net has regrading this subject. Thought Google is the GOD!

    "PS. if you ever find out how to in your googling etc, post here, I'd love to be able to do that aswell."

    Sure thing, I will post it once I find a solution.

    MacPC.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21
    post your xorg.conf, so i can see it.

    The reason i can't drop mine, is because im using 2 serparate Xwindows or whatever u call them. Thats how the method im using works. But thats why my backgrounds are different.

    Also Xinerama is a program i believe, and with that you can't change backgrounds, because its splitting the desktop over multiple screens. However with this method you can transfer windows (it just suffers from bit depth problems etc).

    PS. for transfer of windows, i heard the were some very buggy scripts etc, that could emulate the effect. Not sure exactly what they are, but they are probably out there.

    Myself, i would love to know a terminal command to switch to the other xserver running. So i can have an app go fullscreen properly on one, and not go funny when the mouse moves off it. (MM maybe a temporary mouse virtual mouse that i can turn on and off would do this hmmmm.)

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31
    Hi bojo,

    Here is my xorg.conf files. I have been playing with the Options, I am not sure what they do since they don't sem to make any difference whether I comment them ot or not. The only thing that seems to have an effect are the xinerama option and the twinview option. Even I comment out the twinview option, the computer is still in twinview after I restart it. I guess it's the default setting. What are all these options anyway? And how many more are there besidse the ones in my xorg.conf?

    In Windows, the Display control panel seems to do both twinview and xinerama at the same time, may be that's why once set up for two monitors, the window can be transfer from one screen to the other like in xinerama mode and still have two desktops like in twinview. I am not sure if that's the case though.

    In Ubuntu, what puzzles me is that the mouse can go from one screen to another in twinview and the icons can be dragged from one screen to the other, but not the window.

    How do you get two Xservers running on one kernal?

    MacPC

    # /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man /etc/X11/xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    # sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

    Section "Files"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi"
    # path to defoma fonts
    FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "i2c"
    Load "bitmap"
    Load "ddc"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    Load "int10"
    Load "type1"
    Load "vbe"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Configured Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "wacom"
    Identifier "stylus"
    Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
    # /dev/input/event
    # for USB
    Option "Type" "stylus"
    Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "wacom"
    Identifier "eraser"
    Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
    # /dev/input/event
    # for USB
    Option "Type" "eraser"
    Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "wacom"
    Identifier "cursor"
    Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
    # /dev/input/event
    # for USB
    Option "Type" "cursor"
    Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
    EndSection

    Section "Device"

    ### Available Driver options are:-
    Identifier "Intel"
    Driver "i810"
    VendorName "Intel Corporation"
    BoardName "82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device"
    BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
    ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
    ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
    ### [arg]: arg optional
    Option "NoAccel" "off'
    Option "SWcursor" "on"
    Option "ColorKey" # <i>
    Option "CacheLines" # <i>
    Option "Dac6Bit" "on"
    Option "DRI" "on"
    Option "NoDDC" "on"
    Option "ShowCache" "on"
    Option "XvMCSurfaces" # <i>
    Option "PageFlip" "on"
    Option "TwinView" "On"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    ### Available Driver options are:-
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName "NV17 [GeForce4 MX 440]"
    BusID "PCI:2:11:0"
    ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
    ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
    ### [arg]: arg optional
    #Option "SWcursor" "on"
    #Option "HWcursor" "on"
    Option "NoAccel" "off"
    Option "ShadowFB" "on"
    Option "UseFBDev" "on"
    #Option "Rotate" "on"
    Option "VideoKey" "on"
    Option "FlatPanel" "on"
    Option "FPDither" "on"
    Option "CrtcNumber" "on"
    Option "FPScale" "on"
    Option "FPTweak" "on"
    Option "TwinView" "On"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Generic Monitor"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "Monitor Model"
    Option "DPMS"
    HorizSync 28-51
    VertRefresh 43-60
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    #DisplaySize 470 300 # mm
    Identifier "LCD Monitor"
    VendorName "PTS"
    ModelName "579"
    Option "DPMS"
    HorizSync 30-60
    VertRefresh 60-75
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Intel_Screen"
    Device "Intel"
    Monitor "Generic Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 1
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 4
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 15
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "nvidia_Screen"
    Device "nvidia"
    Monitor "LCD_Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 1
    Modes "1680x1050" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 4
    Modes "1680x1050" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 8
    Modes "1680x1050" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 15
    Modes "1680x1050" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    Modes "1680x1050" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    Modes "1680x1050" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen "nvidia_Screen" 0 0
    Screen "Intel_Screen" LeftOf "nvidia_Screen"
    #Option "Xinerama"
    #Option "TwinView"
    InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
    InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
    InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
    InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
    InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21
    it looks like you have it setup like mine.

    eg. each desktop has its own panels etc?

    id think it should change desktops separetly. Mine did, im using a 6600GT with teh VGA outs and the TV outs, granted i can't see much on the TV, but its got a different background.

    Sorry i can't be of any help. Though it doesnt seem like anyone else can either

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •