Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Hello, I am a (very) new to Linux so I could use all the help that I could get Installed last night ubuntu (latest version) Every thing went very well ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7

    Failed to initialize HAL!


    Hello,

    I am a (very) new to Linux so I could use all the help that I could get
    Installed last night ubuntu (latest version)
    Every thing went very well transfered my mail from Outlook Express to Evolution also my bookmarks and cookies.
    Installed USB printer
    Did not install any packages except just run the update manager which installed some packages.
    Did a few things like enable automatic login and add evolution and firefox to start automatically startup and suddenly now I get a message "Failed to initialize HAL!"
    I search Google and this forum but I have no clue at all
    appreciate all help

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Perhaps it is related to the specified devices in /etc/fstab ? What do have in there ?

    Or maybe try :
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure hal
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    This is what I have in fstab.
    It's a dual boot system windows XP, ubuntu with 2 disks first disk used for OS
    second for data
    also 1 CD drive, 1 CD/RW drive and 1 floppy
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure hal did not solve the problem

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # /dev/hda2
    UUID=d1f1d8a7-212c-48c1-b5f9-2af889f04071 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /dev/hda1
    UUID=CE1053C11053AEE9 /media/hda1 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
    # /dev/hdd5
    UUID=F4740BFF740BC37A /media/hdd5 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
    # /dev/hdd1
    UUID=5967f35c-9e86-4285-8e88-f6fb4ef6a0f4 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/hdb /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
    /dev/hdc /media/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
    /dev/ /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by alaertsg
    /dev/ /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0
    This last line doesn't look right at all.

    Perhaps something like that would be more appropriate :
    Code:
    /dev/fd0        /media/floppy0  auto    rw,user,noauto  0       0
    So /dev/fd0 instead of just /dev which is obviously wrong.

    First make sure /dev/fd0 exist :
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/fd*
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    ls -l /dev/fd* gives as output:
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 2006-11-15 19:05 /dev/fd -> /proc/self/fd
    brw-rw---- 1 root floppy 2, 0 2006-11-15 18:05 /dev/fd0

    So I changed the file /etc/ fstab like you recommended but i still receive the same error when rebooting and logging on

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    no more idea's to solve my problem?

  8. #7
    Linux User towy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322
    There was a bug report about this and it seems that it might be USB hotplug related, so unplug any usb devices that you don't need and then reboot. then add kit until the problem recurs, then you will know
    free/libre/open software for the people by the people
    Linux user #185360

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Must be something like that.
    I only have usb printer attached but when not on I don't get the message.
    Should I also post a bug report?
    How I can do that?
    How can I follow other bug reports?
    I know many question but I am new to Linux

  10. #9
    Just Joined! Mervg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by alaertsg
    Hello,

    I am a (very) new to Linux so I could use all the help that I could get
    Installed last night ubuntu (latest version)
    Every thing went very well transfered my mail from Outlook Express to Evolution also my bookmarks and cookies.
    Installed USB printer
    Did not install any packages except just run the update manager which installed some packages.
    Did a few things like enable automatic login and add evolution and firefox to start automatically startup and suddenly now I get a message "Failed to initialize HAL!"
    I search Google and this forum but I have no clue at all
    appreciate all help
    _________________-
    Do you have auto-logon activated? Try disabling that.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Yes I have autologon! I am coming from windows
    But what has did to do with the hal error?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •