Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
how to check that?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    how to check that?

  2. #12
    Linux User muha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    290
    Either:
    - try it
    - ask users also using your ISP
    - contact you ISP
    - read the site from your ISP
    Now what? You have Linux installed and running. The GUI is working fine, but you are getting tired of changing your desktop themes. You keep seeing this "terminal" thing. Don't worry, they'll show you what to do @
    <~ http://www.linuxcommand.org/ ~>

  3. #13
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok i know im complete n00b to that.

    what is that ISP?

  4. #14
    j1s
    j1s is offline
    Just Joined! j1s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    90

    Isp

    Quote Originally Posted by jan1024188
    what is that ISP?
    Internet Service Provider

  5. #15
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok now please guide me to set up server.

  6. #16
    j1s
    j1s is offline
    Just Joined! j1s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    90
    Sorry, my fault. Of course theres no /usr/lib/www. I had the www-dir mixed uop with the cgi-bin-dir.

    You should have something like this:

    /var/www - main html-files
    /usr/lib/cgi-bin - place to put your script-files, if any.

    Sorry about that mixup.

  7. #17
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    no problem

    this is solved and i can open my files when typing
    http://localhost in my browser...

    Now i dont know what to do next....

  8. #18
    j1s
    j1s is offline
    Just Joined! j1s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    90
    I do not quite understand what you want.

    You're having a server with Apache2 or something.
    You can ping the Apache server from your lan/wan or ping localhost.
    Next you need a domain, www.yourdomain.com.
    You also need your domain-register to let www.yourdomain.com to point to the static-ip address to the Apach2 server.
    I guess it's time to do some html-editing.
    Start with the index.*-file.

    This is just some of the things you have to do. There may be some other stuff to do, but I can't remeber them just now...

  9. #19
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok i understand that.
    I need registered domain and static ip....i dont have none of theese..

    I think ill buy web hosting...

    thanks for help

  10. #20
    Linux User muha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    290
    Quote Originally Posted by jan1024188
    I need registered domain and static ip....i dont have none of theese..
    You don't *need* those, some people use either the webspace provided by their isp, like here (I think):
    http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/JWCRAWFORD/
    Some isp's allow forwarding of port 80 to the (dynamic) server at the users home
    Howto (for a mac): http://www.mactech.com/articles/mact...ome/index.html

    You can also forward a spiffy looking domain name from services like:
    http://www.dot.tk

    Or use free webhosting services like this one:
    info: http://www.whatthe****.com/
    example: http://jameth.whatthe****.com/
    Oops, this forum does not like the word ****. To give you a hint: it sounds like duck, although some people spell it like fcuk.

    A nice variant is SDF, they provide webhosting for $5,- or free shell logins (and loads of other stuff).
    info: http://sdf.lonestar.org/index.cgi?access
    example: http://jpbarto.freeshell.org/

    Quote Originally Posted by jan1024188
    I think ill buy web hosting...
    thanks for help
    No problem! I'm just pointing out possibilities
    Now what? You have Linux installed and running. The GUI is working fine, but you are getting tired of changing your desktop themes. You keep seeing this "terminal" thing. Don't worry, they'll show you what to do @
    <~ http://www.linuxcommand.org/ ~>

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •