Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have an external usb 2.5 HD with NTFS as an extra storage space with files on it but when I connect it to my laptop with ubuntu on it, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    NTFS HD in read only


    I have an external usb 2.5 HD with NTFS as an extra storage space with files on it but when I connect it to my laptop with ubuntu on it, it comes up in read only mode and I want to be able to write to the disk as well. How can I make this possible?

    JC Beasley

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    You can use the NTFS-3g driver, avalaible in Ubuntu :

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ntfs-3g
    Then you can mount the partition like that :
    Code:
    sudo ntfs-3g -o nls=utf8,umask=0 /dev/sda1 /mnt/winxp
    for example.

    More details here :
    http://technowizah.com/2006/11/debia...g-to-ntfs.html
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    Ntfs

    cool thank you I believe that is what I am looking for

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    Root password

    How come when I installed Ubuntu it did not ask me to set up a password for the root user only when I created my user account
    please help

  5. #5
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by beas
    How come when I installed Ubuntu it did not ask me to set up a password for the root user only when I created my user account
    That's normal, by default Ubuntu doesn't activate the root account. It uses "sudo" instead, with your password.

    More here :
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #6
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    If you want to use root privileges from the CLI, you can always do:
    Code:
    sudo passwd root
    Bryan

    *EDIT* Whoops, it seems like it mentions that in the article antidrugue linked to
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •