Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
It's in gdmsetup (sudo gdmsetup). I'm not using Linux right now but I believe there is a security tab where you can allow root login. Now, for the customary warning ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619

    It's in gdmsetup (sudo gdmsetup). I'm not using Linux right now but I believe there is a security tab where you can allow root login.

    Now, for the customary warning - logging in as root through your login manager is dangerous. You will have root access to absolutely everything and I highly recommend you do not do so.

    Fall2Hell, what are you trying to install? Can you not get it through apt?

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  2. #12
    Just Joined! Fall2Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    9
    i was trying to install the package of build-essential, because my make command wasnt installed, and dont know why but i couldnt get it throught apt, but i used graphic mode to install it.

    But now i have another problem, i use ./configure them make in the dir. of the prog i whant to install and it gives an error about something that the make command doesnt know what to do or something like that. (sorry but i did it today in the morning and dont remember exactly what was the error).
    ill post it back, the error when i check it again.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the correct error message. to execute ./configure, you must be in the folder where file is stored.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #14
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Not to discourage you from trying to compile from source but if the program is available through apt, it would be so much easier. Have you searched for it?

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  5. #15
    Just Joined! Fall2Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    9
    Correct me if im mistaken but apt is through web (internet connection) wich i still dont have in the pc that i have ubuntu installed.
    so my only option is to compile it.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    which package are you installing?





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #17
    Just Joined! Fall2Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    9
    im trying to install a few programs like wine and drivers for my usb wireless and for my al-in-one epson dx5000 drivers for the scan because i think the drivers for the printer didint get out yet.

  8. #18
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    its a bit problematic to install packages without internet connection coz of dependency issues....
    well ! post exact 'error massage'. we will try our best to help you.




    Good Luck !
    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #19
    Just Joined! Fall2Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Coimbra, Portugal
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    its a bit problematic to install packages without internet connection coz of dependency issues....
    well ! post exact 'error massage'. we will try our best to help you.
    Good Luck !
    casper
    here are the errors that gave me.
    error 1

    translation:
    without rule to process target distclean
    no target indicated and no make archive found

    error2

    translation:i think this one doesnt need translation

  10. #20
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    For wine, you need to install the flex package.

    As a suggestion, why not just concentrate on getting your wireless working and then install wine after that through apt?

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •