Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
pk i upgraded feom dapper to edgy and now i get xfce login manager....how to set up gnome login manages as default again?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    no gdm?


    pk i upgraded feom dapper to edgy and now i get xfce login manager....how to set up gnome login manages as default again?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure gdm




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    i've tried but it doesnt work

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    whats the error message? please always specify error message to save time.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by jan1024188
    pk i upgraded feom dapper to edgy and now i get xfce login manager....how to set up gnome login manages as default again?
    What do you mean here exactly ?

    XFCE login manager ?

    Which login manager are you using ? xdm ? gdm ? kdm ? wdm ?

    If you want gdm, just install it, and remove the others.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    If you want gdm, just install it, and remove the others
    is it necessary to remove Login Managers? i have both gdm and kdm in Ubuntu Dapper and i am using kdm right now. i usually change default manager through 'dpkg-reconfigure' command.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    is it necessary to remove Login Managers? i have both gdm and kdm in Ubuntu Dapper and i am using kdm right now.
    True that, I just assumed that's not what he wanted (and to avoid possible confusion).

    I guess if
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure gdm
    didn't work it means "gdm" is not installed.

    Could you provide more details jan1024188 ? It really is hard to help when the question is not detailed or clear enough. I'm still not sure I understand what you are trying to do.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    It really is hard to help when the question is not detailed or clear enough. I'm still not sure I understand what you are trying to do.
    same here. jan1024188 is offline right now. may be he is checking error message.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    same here. jan1024188 is offline right now. may be he is checking error message.
    i were not at home
    ok i dont know if i have gdm installed!When upgrading to edgy i got error messages for gdm and kdm....so how to install gdm?

  10. #10
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok here is an error message when reinstalling gdm
    E: gnome-app-install: subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 1
    E: clvm: subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 3
    E: redhat-cluster-suite: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    E: system-config-cluster: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    E: ubuntu-desktop: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    E: xubuntu-desktop: dependency problems - leaving unconfigured

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •