Hi,

Firstly, I'm a complete novice when it comes to Linux. As in, a COMPLETE novice. Bring me a Windows system, or a Mac and no problem, but Linux? Can't get my head around :P

Basically I've seen all the stuff floating around about Ubuntu, what it can do with XGL etc and wanted to give it a go myself.

I downloaded both the 32-Bit and 64-Bit versions of Ubuntu (Neither are the 'Alternate' versions either).

I have the following setup (Basic specs).

CPU: AMD X2 4400+
RAM: 2GB DDR
Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Drives: 2x36.7 WD SATA Drives
SATA Chipset: SiliconImage 3114
Video: ATI Radeon X1800 XT

Ok, so I boot off the LiveCD (either) and load up Ubuntu. Because it doesnt appear to support my raid (I'm running the above drives in RAID0) it displays them both seperatly so to avoid confusion, I deleted the RAID altogether. I'd also like to point out that I have tried with the drives on both the RAID SATA ports and the standard SATA ports and end up with the same issue.

So, I install it on one of the drives, basically letting it do what it want's with them. So it installs fine and I reboot. Then when the 'Ubuntu' logo appears on the screen along with a progress bar, the progress bar loads about 2mm, freezes and sits there until I reboot the system. I've sat on this for about 20 minutes with no change.

This happens with both the 32-Bit and 64-Bit installations. From what I heard, the difference between the standard and alternate downloads is that one is a GUI based installer, and the other is a text based installer. Installing the OS isn't the issue so i've not tried the alternate versions.

I've also tried hitting Esc during the bootloader loading sequence, and selecting the second (safe mode or something) option. It scrolls a load of stuff down the screen and hangs on something to do with USB for about 30 seconds, and then strangely, it continues without a problem.