Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
OK, here is my problem. I have had Ubuntu 6.1 installed for about a month now. I have it setup as dual boot with a WinXP SP2 machine. I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    10

    internet down, synaptic not downloading


    OK, here is my problem. I have had Ubuntu 6.1 installed for about a month now. I have it setup as dual boot with a WinXP SP2 machine. I have been having problems in Windows running bittorrent, so I thought I would do it from Linux to see if the same problems existed. I tried to install bittornado gui from the package manger. It did its thing and tried to download the files needed and errored out. I then tried to hop online via firefox and the connection was dead. Thinking it might be router related, i restarted the modem, router, and computer in sequence with no success. It worked before today. I even tried booting from the Ubuntu CD and I could not get onto the internet. I would like to troubleshoot this, but I do not know where to start. Networking in general is somewhat new to me. In networking tools, the lo device seemed to have data associated with it, but, the eth-0 device did not have anything on the left side. It is acting like the built in ethernet capability is not working. When I boot into Windows all is fine. Can anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    I am going to assume you get your ip from the router by dhcp
    try from the command line
    Code:
    sudo ifdown -a
    sudo ifup eth0
    and post what you get
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    10

    Here it is

    It is dynamically assigned by the router. Static IP is not enabled. Thanks!

    jullian@jullian-linux:~$ sudo ifdown -a
    Password:
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth0.pid with pid 4924
    killed old client process, removed PID file
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
    Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:11:2f:63:3c:8e
    Sending on LPF/eth0/00:11:2f:63:3c:8e
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    jullian@jullian-linux:~$ sudo ifup eth0
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth0.pid with pid 134993416
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
    Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:11:2f:63:3c:8e
    Sending on LPF/eth0/00:11:2f:63:3c:8e
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 11
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 19
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    that is very odd. It is like the router is not sending out a ip address....... what does
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig
    show?
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    10

    here it is

    jullian@jullian-linux:~$ sudo ifconfig
    Password:
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:2F:63:3C:8E
    inet6 addr: fe80::211:2fff:fe63:3c8e/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:2520 (2.4 KiB)
    Interrupt:193 Base address:0x8000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:100 (100.0 b) TX bytes:100 (100.0 b)

    jullian@jullian-linux:~$


    A little explanation would be nice.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    do you know the ip of your router? try pinning it
    Code:
    ping ip_address
    also do you know what type of nic you have? Was it working fine before, and today you just booted up and it didn't work?
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    10

    fixed at last

    I performed a hard reset on the router, let it stay powered down for 10 minutes and everything works now. I have to re-enter all of my port forwarding data. What a pain in the @ss that will be. I am really disappointed in this router. It is a Linksys wrk54g. I think it has been giving me problems downloading via bittorrent as well. Thanks for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •