Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am very new to Linux. I used to play around with Knoppix. I recenetly ordered a Ubuntu disc and was shocked by the simplicity and smoothness of the installation. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

WMV in Ubuntu

I am very new to Linux. I used to play around with Knoppix. I recenetly ordered a Ubuntu disc and was shocked by the simplicity and smoothness of the installation. It even makes my crappy old laptop run well. But I am a big fan of an on going web series called Red Vs. Blue. There files are generally in wmv and lo and behold they won't play.

I need to get a program or something to get these files to play. Anything someone could show me to do would be very helpful. I however have no experience with Terminal. So if it is a serious step in anything I need to do I will practically need a "For Dummies" guide.

I know this is not a common problem, but I was hoping someone has pracitce with downloading programs on ubuntu and could assist me with another problem. I would like to get the program X Link Kai on my laptop as they have a Linux version but my two attempts so far have failed as I am indeed a noob.

If anyone can help me with either of these problems please do and thanks for your time.

Just Joined!
    try to install w32codecs from here it should work without any problem

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Download and install Automatix. Not only will you be able to get wmv and other proprietary codecs to work but lots of other useful things.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by John Fury
    I am very new to Linux. I used to play around with Knoppix. I recenetly ordered a Ubuntu disc and was shocked by the simplicity and smoothness of the installation. It even makes my crappy old laptop run well. But I am a big fan of an on going web series called Red Vs. Blue. There files are generally in wmv and lo and behold they won't play.