Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I'm new to Ubuntu and the Linux community and I have the first of what will likely become many questions. I'm currently up on Ubuntu "Edgy" 6.10, running ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ALSA Install Failure

Hello all, I'm new to Ubuntu and the Linux community and I have the first of what will likely become many questions. I'm currently up on Ubuntu "Edgy" 6.10, running the XGL Beryl GUI. Problem is I have no sound, I did, until I tried to install Alsa drivers for my SB Audigy. I downloaded and installed the drivers from the alsa project web-site, following their instructions listed for my card. I'm able to get libs and utils installed, utils took a little editing but it works now, the driver is the problem. Here's the what I'm receiving during the install of the driver:

mkdir -p /lib/modules/2.6.17-10-generic/kernel/sound/acore
    cp snd-hpet.ko snd-hwdep.ko snd-page-alloc.ko snd-pcm.ko snd-rawmidi.ko snd-timer.ko snd.ko /lib/modules/2.6.17-10-generic/kernel/sound/acore
    cp: cannot stat `snd-hpet.ko': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `snd-hwdep.ko': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `snd-page-alloc.ko': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `snd-pcm.ko': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `snd-rawmidi.ko': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `snd-timer.ko': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `snd.ko': No such file or directory
    make[1]: *** [modules_install] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/alsa/alsa-driver-1.0.9rc4a/acore'
    make: *** [install-modules] Error 1

I've run alsaconf and alsamixer. Alsamixer comes up with the following:

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory