Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, So I've got a laptop that I want to switch over to Linux with. I've never used Linux, not even seen it in person, so I'm a complete ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Switching Over a High-Spec Laptop - HELP!

Hi all,
    So I've got a laptop that I want to switch over to Linux with. I've never used Linux, not even seen it in person, so I'm a complete noob as far as Linux is concerned. However, I'm pretty computer saavy otherwise, so I won't need too much hand-holding.

I've attempted to make the switch a few times in the past, to no avail. I've always hit a snag somewhere along the way, and I'm virtually certain its because of the hardware in my setup, which is the following:

Alienware Aurora m9700
    AMD Turion 64 Mobile; ML-44, 2.41 GHz
    2GB RAM; 2 x 1024MB, DDR
    Dual HDDs in RAID 0; 2 x 80GB (RAID is via some nVidia component that is semi-transparent to the OS. Needs drivers but is otherwise unrecognized by the system.)
    2 x nVidia GeForce Go 7900 GS (SLi) video cards

Those are the basics. Its got some other things, like a Bluetooth module and an ExpressCard slot, but lest tackle the basics first. What do I need to do to get Ubuntu running on this thing? I have another computer I can work on, as well as about 100 available to me at school, so I'm not afraid to back up my files on the laptop and scrub the disks clean for a fresh start. I'm also pretty familiar with the RAID controller interface, so I can modify the array.

I've attempted Live CDs and DVDs, as well as full installations on an external drive. All of them have snagged somewhere about halfway through the installation or at the end, at login.

Any and all help is very appreciated.

Mike

PS - Thanks for having a great forum setup. Very smooth.