Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello everyone, I just installed Kubuntu on an older HP Pentium 1.3 and the OS works fine until I start playing with the screen resolution. I also want to take ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Question Monitor issues with an install of Kubuntu


    Hello everyone,

    I just installed Kubuntu on an older HP Pentium 1.3 and the OS works fine until I start playing with the screen resolution. I also want to take advantage of my 19" Acer Widescreen monitor, but it offers two different problems.

    1. The OS picks it up as a generic monitor, which may as well be a 14" CRT from the 90s. I don't get the crisp LCD look and it seems stretched. I also get some slight "waviness" in certain spots.

    2. I am using the video off the motherboard and not a separate video card. I also could not find any linux drivers for the monitor (only Windows). Will this problem resolve itself with a separate graphics card? Does the monitor respond to graphics card drivers instead of the monitor's?

    Apprieciate any help you can provide.

    Thanks

    S.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    1. The OS picks it up as a generic monitor, which may as well be a 14" CRT from the 90s. I don't get the crisp LCD look and it seems stretched. I also get some slight "waviness" in certain spots.

    2. I am using the video off the motherboard and not a separate video card. I also could not find any linux drivers for the monitor (only Windows). Will this problem resolve itself with a separate graphics card? Does the monitor respond to graphics card drivers instead of the monitor's?
    problem is in resoltuion and refresh rates. there is no need to install Monitor Drivers in Linux. execute this
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    set resolution and refresh rates. in case, it doesn't work, execute this
    Code:
    less /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    post Screen and Monitor section here.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Reconfig question

    Hi Casper,

    First let me thank you for replying.

    I was going through the reconfig wizard and I am trying to find the answers to the questions. I don't have a video card and am using the main board's port.

    How can I find out the chip or chipset manufacturer? This is a HP Pavillion 5100 1.3 Mghz computer.

    What name do I sue for the video card identifier?

    The screen doesn't display very nicely, such as little vertical lines on the bottom panel and some slight distortion throughout the screen. Should I buy an extra video card or is the motherboard port sufficient? I don't do any gaming.


    Here is the xorg file as well

    ************************************************** ******************
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Acer AL1916W"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]"
    Monitor "Acer AL1916W"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 1
    Modes "1440x1440" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 4
    Modes "1440x1440" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1440x1440" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1440x1440" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1440x1440" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1440x1440" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    ************************************************** **************


    Thanks,

    Spiro

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Refresh rates are not defined in your xorg.conf file.
    execute this code in terminal.
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    add HorizSync and VertRefresh rate. check your Monitor's Manual for supported rates.
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "Generic Monitor"
            Option          "DPMS"
            HorizSync       31.5-59
            VertRefresh     50-70
    EndSection
    this is a section for Graphics Card. set Driver's value to "vesa". its a generic driver and works perfectly.
    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier      "Generic Video Card"
            Driver          "vesa"
            BusID           "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    save file and press Ctrl+Alt+Backspace to restart X server ( GUI ).






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Refresh rate and HorizSync

    Hi Casper,

    I fiound the following from someone that has the same monitor and that has successfully configured his monitor. I'll try this tonight when I get home. However, my question relates to the "Modeline" entry. What is it for? The person in question had some issues with the 1440X900 resolution value.

    HorizSync 30-82
    VertRefresh 56-76
    Modeline "1440x900" 106.5 1440 1520 1672 1904 900 901 904 932 -HSync +VSync

    The problem with changing the xorg.conf file has been that once I do that and restart X, my resolution drops to 640X480 and can't change back anymore. I'll try it anyways and hope for the best.

    I'll keep you posted.

    Thanks

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Stuck on 800X600 now

    As X was booting up, a screen showed up and told me that the 1280X1024 was unsupported and that 800X600 was going to be used. I know that this monitor can support a higher resolution. The command prompt came up which allowed me to restore the backed up xorg file.

    Stuck again. Does Modeline help at all?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5

    Yes you need the modeline.

    Yes, the modeline is needed. I had this exact same problem with my Ubuntu install on a widescreen laptop a while ago. The Modeline tells the xWindows about the dimensions and other details about your monitor and allows you to use resolutions with different ratios. Without it, xWindows will only accept standard 8/6 ratios and all others will be disabled. You can get a modeline here.

    I hope this helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •