Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just set up a dual-boot with windows and ubuntu, but this time i installed windows last, so naturally it doesn't want to have anything to do with ubuntu and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Can i use gparted to install grub over windows boot loader?

I just set up a dual-boot with windows and ubuntu, but this time i installed windows last, so naturally it doesn't want to have anything to do with ubuntu and just pretends it doesn't exist.

Can i use gparted livecd! to install grub? Or is there a better way to go about setting up boot manager?

Thanks!

Just Joined!
    I'm new in Linux as well. But as far as I've read, it's easier to install Windows first.
    In principle it should be possible to install grub with the grub-install in command line, but don't ask me

Linux Newbie
    Yea, i've set up a ton of dual-boots before installing linux first, but this time i decided to be more adventurous hehe.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    I don't believe you can, but you can make a GRUB install CD yourself :
    http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/man...ble-CD_002dROM

Then install GRUB using it :
    http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/man...ub_002dinstall
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

Linux Newbie
    hmm. anyone know if i can use ubuntu or suse's "restore" feature to reinstall grub? I know it will if i do the install over, but would like to avoid that :P

Yes, you can do it with Ubuntu CD (with Suse's one as well) :
    http://forumz.tomshardware.com/softw...ict231779.html
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

Linux Newbie