Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33
Okay, made the changes to menu.lst and this is what it says when I try to boot linux now: Code: Booting command-list root (hd1,0) Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x42 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined! mntbiker3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Boston Massachusetts
    Posts
    18

    Okay, made the changes to menu.lst and this is what it says when I try to boot linux now:
    Code:
         Booting command-list
    root (hd1,0)
       Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x42
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-27-386
    
    Error 17: Cannont Mount selected partition

  2. #22
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hmm.... now we can try hit n trial method only coz i couldn't find a solution for SFS problem. edit device.map file too.
    Code:
    (hd1)   /dev/hda
    (hd0)   /dev/hdb
    if it doesn't work ( i think it should work now ), we will have to use SBM or Windows Boot Loader.




    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #23
    Just Joined! mntbiker3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Boston Massachusetts
    Posts
    18
    Casper,
    After a couple of days and plenty of help from you, gurb now loads windows and linux flawlessly. Thanks for helping, and for responding so quick, and for being patient! I owe you.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you are most Welcome mntbiker3 ! i am glad i could help you.







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6
    Hello CASPER,

    I have a very very very similar problem as mntbiker3 had back then in Jan/2007.

    Could you please help me?


    Initially my system was rebooting after the loading 1.5 stage of grub. After several tweaks, my current problem is:

    Grub loads OK (now I see the stage 2 loading message) and I get to the OS list. I have WinXP Pro SP2 and Ubuntu 8.04 installed.
    But if I choose Windows, the grub "Starting up" appears with the word GRUB printed right below it, and nothing happens... it looks like the loading process does not even start. All I see is a black screen (same as of DOS prompt) with "Starting Up" on the first line and GRUB on the second, nothing more nothing less.

    I had to Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart everything again.

    Then I choose Ubuntu, but erro 17 appears: "Cannot mount selected partition"
    From the GRUB list options:
    "17 : Cannot mount selected partition
    This error is returned if the partition requested exists, but the filesystem type cannot be recognized by GRUB."


    I have the feeling that I'm close to fix this issue.What should I do now? It looks like I need to handle either device.map and menu.lst, but I'm not sure what should I change there.

    Here's my device.map:

    Code:
    (hd0)    /dev/hde
    (hd1)    /dev/hdf
    (hd2)    /dev/hdg
    (hd3)    /dev/hdh

    And here's my menu.lst:

    Code:
    title           Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    root            (hd0,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader     +1
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic
    root            (hd3,0)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=UUID=c92660b5-2b8c-4895-8501-9591ba4f86c8 ro quiet splash
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic
    quiet
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic (recovery mode)
    root            (hd3,0)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=UUID=c92660b5-2b8c-4895-8501-9591ba4f86c8 ro single
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-16-generic
    
    title           Ubuntu 8.04, memtest86+
    root            (hd3,0)
    kernel          /boot/memtest86+.bin
    quiet

  7. #26
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi Gauchoo1234 !

    Welcome to LinuxForums !

    Is Ubuntu booting up fine? Post the output of sudo fdisk -l command here.
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Last edited by devils casper; 07-11-2008 at 02:40 PM.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #27
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    How many drives do you have?
    Change your windows entry from root to rootnoverify.
    Post output of 'fdisk -l' command.

  9. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6
    Hello everybody, thanks for the quick reply!

    I'll post the fdisk -l within a few minutes, just let me load the ubuntu live cd.

    You can follow all my saga on the following link:
    GRUB problem : "Loading Stage 1.5" in infinited loop - LinuxQuestions.org

    There you'll see my system specs, what I've gone through and how I came to this point

    But just don't take that (fdisk -l output) as the current one, since I've changed the boot disks, I need to post the new output. Just wait a few minutes

  10. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Is Ubuntu booting up fine?
    Right now it is not. Like I said above, it was booting fine until I change the boot HD on the BIOS.



    Quote Originally Posted by yancek View Post
    How many drives do you have?
    I have 4 HDs attached to a HighPoint controller on my Abit BX133-RAID motherboard.

    They are indentified as hde, hdf, hdg and hdh.

    I've installed Windows (C:\) on hde and used the 2 other HDs (hdf and hdg) for Windows additional partitions (D:\, E:\, F:\, etc).

    IMPORTANT: ALL Windows partitions/disks are Dynamic!

    The 'last' HD (hdh) was empty and I left if for Linux. Installed Ubuntu then all the problem started. The Windows HDs were already dynamic by the time I installed Ubuntu.


    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Post the output of sudo fdisk -l command here.
    Quote Originally Posted by yancek View Post
    Post output of 'fdisk -l' command.
    Here it is:
    Code:
    root@ubuntu:/# fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/hde: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xa29fa29f
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hde1   *           1        2550    20482843+  42  SFS
    /dev/hde2            2551        9729    57665317+  42  SFS
    
    Disk /dev/hdf: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0dba0dba
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hdf1               1        9729    78148161   42  SFS
    
    Disk /dev/hdg: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x5ee25ee2
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hdg1               1        9729    78148161   42  SFS
    
    Disk /dev/hdh: 41.1 GB, 41110142976 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4998 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x5f495f49
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hdh1   *           1        4858    39021853+  83  Linux
    root@ubuntu:/#

  11. #30
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6
    Please guys do not let me down

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •