Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Hi, I'm new on Linux, try to install Ubuntu on my Acer Laptop, but it get freeze at the language selection. Searching for info about this I enter the forum ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8

    Ubuntu on Acer Aspire 3000


    Hi,
    I'm new on Linux, try to install Ubuntu on my Acer Laptop, but it get freeze at the language selection. Searching for info about this I enter the forum and some advice for similar case are to try with noacpi nolapi, but idont know how to disable that. Really i need help on this. If someone knows how to boot disabling that options let me know.

    Regards

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    68
    what version of Ubuntu are you running?
    If you are trying to install Feisty Fawn, then use Edgy Eft instead.

    If you are using Edgy or Dapper (6.10 or 6.06) then you might want to download the alternate install cd which is a keyboard based installer. Its not meant for complete newbies however.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    I'm running 6.10, do you know where to download the keybard based installation disc?

  4. #4
    Linux User Dark_Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around St. Louis
    Posts
    284
    I'm running it on my Acer Aspire 3005 right now. Once you get the CD working you're going to want to read up on using ndiswrapper to install your wireless card driver, and how to reconfigure xorg to support your 1280 x 800 resolution.
    Two levels higher than a newb.
    (I can search google)

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    My system use a Sempron 1.6GhZ, 256MB. Do you think it will works with Ubuntu.. If i get a functional CD.

  6. #6
    Linux User Dark_Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around St. Louis
    Posts
    284
    It will work. You may want to dual boot though until you get used to the way linux works. My laptop I'm on uses a Sempron 2.0 gig (3100+ or 3300+, I can't remember which it is) processor with a gig of ram.

    You may want some more memory for it though. Acually, I still have the two 256MB sticks I took out of this one floating around somewhere. Let me know if you want them. I'll send them to you as long as you pay for the shipping.
    Two levels higher than a newb.
    (I can search google)

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Dark_Stang
    3100+ or 3300+, I can't remember which it is
    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Linux User Dark_Stang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around St. Louis
    Posts
    284
    Thanks devils_casper

    So it's a 3300+...
    Two levels higher than a newb.
    (I can search google)

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    Hi, Dark_Stang, thanks for you help.

    I will pay the shipping for the memories, you can ship it to:

    jose e. bustamante g. pty 5293
    3537 NW 82nd Avenue
    Doral, FL 33122-1027
    Phone: (305) 593-1027

    Really you rock man

    I hope that help me to run Ubuntu or other Linux compilation

    Thanks ......

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    when the BIOS loads the Ubuntu CD there should be an option called "addition boot options" or something along the button. press the associated key and enter:
    Code:
    acpi=noapic
    i know that the apic support is broken for some laptops (like my travelmate), so the best way is to disable it. that should hopefully help.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •