Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
here's a puzzler: I have a a hard drive I've swapped over 3 systems. First a dell p4 1.7, then a compaq athlon 900, now I'm on my latest garage ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! duojet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    33

    kubuntu dapper says it's halting but won't turn off


    here's a puzzler:

    I have a a hard drive I've swapped over 3 systems. First a dell p4 1.7, then a compaq athlon 900, now I'm on my latest garage sale find, a whitebox athlon 1800+ that's wrapped around a ecs k7ama mobo. It's got kubuntu dapper installed and always has. No problem. until now.

    It starts to shut down, and says "will now halt", but doesn't actually turn off. I tried switching power management in bios ans no dice.

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Try this: hit CTRL-ALT-F1 and login. Then, do the following:
    Code:
    sudo shutdown -h now
    Anything?
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! duojet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    33
    hmmm..

    the results are the same.
    It says it's going to halt, the splash screen progress bar gets about 3/4 across, the keyboard lights flash, but everything is still running.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie pcdoctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barbados, Caribbean.
    Posts
    203
    Quote Originally Posted by duojet
    I have a a hard drive I've swapped over 3 systems.
    First a Dell p4 1.7, then a Compaq Athlon 900,
    now I'm on my latest garage sale find, a whitebox Athlon 1800+
    that's wrapped around a ecs k7ama mobo.
    It's got Kubuntu Dapper installed and always has. No problem. until now.
    THREE systems, huh?
    Consider the cumulative amount of drivers IN THERE
    both in current use, and dead-and-gone!

    Might be an idea to boot the HD in Windoze
    and run a cleaner like CCleaner
    which should throw out a buncha junk, and might help.


    Other thing is...you're using Dapper, which is version 6.06
    If you upgrade that to Edgy 6.10, which works much better,
    the problem might be solved?
    ___________________________________
    - whatever!

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    I just need a quick clarification - has the HD worked in this 3rd computer before or has it stopped working since you put it in?
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  6. #6
    Just Joined! duojet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    33
    well the shutdown never worked on the current system, but everything else does.

    I actually have another HD that I've been swapping as well, it went through the p4, the compaq and a k6-350, and those all work.

    I think somehow that this is specific to some hardware I have and not necessarily the kernel. I just don't know how to figure out *which* part that is, and what the workaround would be (other than just using a power swich at the end of the process)

  7. #7
    Just Joined! duojet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    33

    I was wrong!

    I did a fresh install of dapper, and that solved the problem.

    somehow my old dapper install got tweaked to behave more like edgy (don't know how that happened) and it broke something but my web cam worked.

    Interestingly, I have an edgy disk, and that has the shutdown problem, so it may be a kernel issue. right now, I don't care what it is, because everything (except my webcam) works!

  8. #8
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Quote Originally Posted by duojet
    somehow my old dapper install got tweaked to behave more like edgy (don't know how that happened) and it broke something but my web cam worked.
    Did you try upgrading to edgy by any chance with apt?

    I'm glad everything is back up for you again.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  9. #9
    Just Joined! duojet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    33

    may have..

    I probably did somewhere along the line.. my meager understanding of terminal and bash comes from blindly following howtos. Probably not a good idea, but it usually works. I opened up the old hard drive, and the folder structure was a bunch of shortcuts instead of nothingness.

    besides, gotta learn somewhere, and experience is the best teacher!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •