Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok so I understand the usage of Root and how a lot of things, especially in Ubuntu/Kubuntu/Xubuntu/etc you need to click administrator to alter settings and sometimes you still can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Running Root

Ok so I understand the usage of Root and how a lot of things, especially in Ubuntu/Kubuntu/Xubuntu/etc you need to click administrator to alter settings and sometimes you still can not do certain things. Is there a way to say run another session as root? Instead of logging in with my user/pass, can I login with root/pass? Just so that if I want to have the graphical ability to delete things or modify settings, instead of having to always use the command line? Especially since I am still learning linux and do not know the command line for some programs, settings menus, file locations, etc. This way if I need to do something as root that I don't know how to in command, I can just Alt+F7 over to my login as root. Is it possible? Or any other suggestions?

You could always launch nautilus as root:
    Code:
    sudo nautilus
    This will launch nautilus with root privileges so you don't have to logout and login as root. This way you can manipulate files.

If you need to launch any program as root, try launching it with sudo.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Just Joined!