Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi, i'm new to linux, i just installed it yesterday, and i can't access my hard-disk partitions under windows i hava both windows xp and ubuntu on one hard disk, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't see my Windows hard disk partitions

hi, i'm new to linux, i just installed it yesterday, and i can't access my hard-disk partitions under windows

i hava both windows xp and ubuntu on one hard disk, and i'm using the GRUB boot-loader to choose which one to boot. i take it for granted that windows wouldn't deign to notice the linux drives, but how can i access the windows partitions when i've booted ubuntu?

hi sasho,

Welcome to the LinuxForums.

you have to mount windows partitions. execute 'sudo fdisk -l' in terminal and note down windows partition numbers. ( /dev/hda1, hda2 etc. )
    create mount_point (folder) and mount partitions.

Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/win_c
    sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/<partition_no>  /media/win_c
    ls /media/win_c
    in case, partition has FAT32 filesystem, replace ntfs with vfat. you can add an entry in /etc/fstab file for automatic mounting.

Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    thanks, Casper, i tried those commands and it worked. now i can access the xp partitions.

well, here are some other problems that i have. there isn't any sound on my computer while i'm running linux, under windows i have no problems, so it should be something with the drivers i guess. i have a cd disk with drivers for the soundcard but they're for windows only. my soundcard should be something like "C-Media AC97". is it supported by linux?

i also can't write on my xp partitions - they're read-only. i'd heard that ntfs is read-only for linux but it was a long time ago and i had hoped that things had improved since. can i actually write on them under linux?