Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am completely new to linux as of 48 hours ago (give or take an hour ) so am fairly unfarmiliar with it. Installed ubuntu and beryl with no ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Boot Manager Help (Grub)

Hi,

I am completely new to linux as of 48 hours ago (give or take an hour ) so am fairly unfarmiliar with it. Installed ubuntu and beryl with no problems, but vista seemed to not want to start. After a number of formats/reinstalls (and other tweaks/playing with both os's) I managed to get both running great. My only issue now is more of a cosmetic one.

I installed a boot manager GAG 47, which is great but I no longer need/want to be prompted once I select ubuntu from there. In addition I don't think the vista entry on that boot manager is valid. (I had vista installed, then installed ubuntu, and then because vista wouldn't load and the vista cd wouldn't get to the repair menu I formatted the vista partition and reinstalled it completely)

So my questions are:
    1. how can i remove an entry on the grub bootscreen?
    2. how can i bypass the bootscreen and have ubuntu start after I select it with gag 47?

Thanks in advance!
    And oh yeah... I am addicted to ubuntu now! Anyone have a good beginner to intermediate linux guide they can point me to?

hi mrwesth,

Welcome to the LinuxForums.

which boot loader are you using right now? GAG 47 or GRUB?
    which entry do you want to remove from GRUB menu?

Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    Wow, great response time!

I am currently using GAG 47, but when I select ubuntu it then goes to the grub bootscreen. (windows went to its bootscreen aswell but i just removed the ubuntu option there and it loads str8 to vista now.)