Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35
Set it to master and slave since cable select is the cowards way out, made for those that don't understand what they're doing. The rest looks fine. Have a fun!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Lurking Mastermind
    Posts
    3

    Set it to master and slave since cable select is the cowards way out, made for those that don't understand what they're doing. The rest looks fine. Have a fun!

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14
    I am just trying to picture how...and what menu comes up to choose the OS. I don't get how it will just be there magically after this...

  3. #13
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    i would suggest you not to mess with Windows Harddisk or its MBR. unplug Windows Harddisk during Ubuntu Installation. plug-in Other Harddisk as Primary Master and install Ubuntu in it.
    its very easy to setup dual boot later on. Windows Harddisk will be intact in this way and its best method to set up dual boot IMO.





    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14
    Wai, so you think after I format the master with windows, unplug it, throw another harddrive in there as a master, boot ubuntu and then install it on the slave, then after, plug in the windows HD and....let her rip?

  6. #15
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    i am not getting it. why do you want to Format Windows disk? aren't you planning to install Ubuntu in other Harddisk (Slave Drive)?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14
    Right now, I have the 180 gig with windows, I'm about to wipe it clean and start over due to viruses, etc. I want to install ubuntu on a slave drive, so I can dual boot it after I have both plugged in. I thought I would jsut reformat like normal, stick the slave in, boot ubuntu, install that on there, then..somehow it kinda works?

  8. #17
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    it will work, but problem is, Ubuntu installer will install GRUB in MBR of Primary Master disk (windows disk in your case). if anything goes wrong with Ubuntu, you wont be able to boot up Windows. if you anything goes wrong with windows and you re-install Windows later on, its installer will remove GRUB. Ubuntu will not boot up after that and you will have to re-install GRUB again.

    so, best way is, unplug Windows Harddisk during Ubuntu installation and add an entry of windows in Ubuntu GRUB after installation. both disks will be bootable separately and if any thing wrong with any disk, other disk will be bootable.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14
    I have an old xbox harddrive 10 gig lying around, can I just throw it in there while it installs ubuntu? and does Ubuntu auto install GRUB? So when I start it, I get the 2 options?

  10. #19
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    I have an old xbox harddrive 10 gig lying around, can I just throw it in there while it installs ubuntu? and does Ubuntu auto install GRUB?
    Ubuntu will install its GRUB in MBR of Primary Master disk. plug-in that disk as PM.
    So when I start it, I get the 2 options?
    No. as i mentioned earlier, you have to edit GRUB after installation to add an entry of Windows. its easy.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14
    Wait, so Ubuntu installs GRUB onto the MBR of the PM.....but I odn't have the windows one in, just a decoy so the setting don't get messed up. How does that worK?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •