Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, well first of all let me say that this is my first post and I have the feeling that it's going to be a long one. I'm new to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help with installing GRUB

Hi,

well first of all let me say that this is my first post and I have the feeling that it's going to be a long one. I'm new to Linux (Ubuntu 6.10) and I wanted to give it a shot but I encountered several problems...
    I know there are several posts about installing GRUB but none of them are solving my problem. Trust me i tried them all.

Let me first explain the "layout" of my computer.
    I have 3 physical harddrives in my computer.

HD1 is divided to two logical partitions: C,D.
    C - contains my primary WindowsXP
    D - contains just other files (photos, mp3s, documents, etc)

HD2 is one big partition:
    E - contains games, photos, mp3s, documents...

HD3 is divided to two logical partitions: H, I
    H - contains my backup WinXP (in case of problems with my primary XP I want to be able to boot and work)
    I - should contain my Ubuntu 6.10

So what exactly is my problem? The problem is that I can't seem to get GRUB installed on the proper place. When I install it on MBR then during booting I get the ERROR 21 and can't seem to do anything about it. I can't even fix the MBR with fixboot command in Windows recovery console. I issue the fixboot command, Windows tell me that the MBR is now placed on C: but after restart I still get the GRUB Error 21. So I'm stuck and the only solution is formating the C: and reinstalling windows I've already done it twice in the last 2 days.
    So why am I getting the Error 21 (which I understand is that the boot HDD can't be found) when I install GRUB to MBR?