Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm not so much a newbie to Linux as I am a newbie specifically to the Linux as a desktop scene. I've worked with servers - from the old RH ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Age of Empires III and Photoshop CS3

I'm not so much a newbie to Linux as I am a newbie specifically to the Linux as a desktop scene. I've worked with servers - from the old RH 8 & 9 all the way to CentOS and Fedora. I recently purchased a computer with Vista Home Basic on it and I have been one of those to grow up on Windows simply because that's all that was around here in South Carolina for a while.

Since I started working with hosting, Linux has been so solid that I have been interested in using it as a desktop. However, my concern has always been compatibility with some apps and games. In my case, particularly CS3 and Age of Empires III (and the expansions). I know of GIMP, but I just don't like it all that much because of the interface. Maybe I can work on that, at least.

Anyway, I just wanted to see if anyone had these things working. In my research, Wine does seem to occasionally work for playing AoEIII, but I noticed a lot of various issues. I just don't want to go through installing all of this and it not work.

Thanks a lot!

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyTech View Post
    Since I started working with hosting, Linux has been so solid that I have been interested in using it as a desktop. However, my concern has always been compatibility with some apps and games. In my case, particularly CS3 and Age of Empires III (and the expansions). I know of GIMP, but I just don't like it all that much because of the interface. Maybe I can work on that, at least.
    I don't use either of them, so I can't be sure, but as far as I know, AOEIII should work (maybe, without netplay, I don't know if that's important for you or not).