Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Can someone help me how to install my starcraft through wine? can some one elaborate the step of installing... thanks!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6

    How to install Starcraft?


    Can someone help me how to install my starcraft through wine? can some one elaborate the step of installing... thanks!

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    Yep. Except that he did not mention crossover, but plain wine, which is perfectly capable of running starcraft (he didn't mention world of warcraft either, but starcraft):

    Wine AppDB - Search results

    openbox, I don't think you need anything special to get starcraft working. Just put in your starcraft cdrom, make sure that wine is installed, then use wine to launch the setup.exe file or whatever it's called. It should install without any big problem.

    Then go to the relevant directory under "~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/" and look for the starcraft directory, and then for the exe launcher inside of it.

    Are you having any concrete problem installing it?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6
    debian:/media/My Disc/starcraft# wine /media/My\ Disc/starcraft/INSTALL.EXE

    Invoking /usr/lib/wine/wine.bin /media/My Disc/starcraft/INSTALL.EXE ...
    Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: No protocol specified

    err:dc:CreateDCW no driver found for L"WINEPS.DRV"
    fixme:winspool:AddPrinterW DocumentPropertiesW on printer 'L"hp_LaserJet_1010"' fails
    err:dc:CreateDCW no driver found for L"WINEPS.DRV"
    err:imagelist:ImageList_ReplaceIcon no color!
    err:imagelist:ImageList_ReplaceIcon no color!
    err:imagelist:ImageList_ReplaceIcon no color!
    err:imagelist:ImageList_ReplaceIcon no color!
    Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: No protocol specified

    Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: No protocol specified

    Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: No protocol specified

    Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
    Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.
    Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
    Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.
    fixme:winmm:MMDRV_Exit Closing while ll-driver open
    fixme:winmm:MMDRV_Exit Closing while ll-driver open
    Wine failed with return code 1



    this is what happen when i type this [B]debian:/media/My Disc/starcraft# wine /media/My\ Disc/starcraft/INSTALL.EXE[B]

    is this correct?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    its because you are trying to install as root
    install as the user you will run the program as, wine doesn't need root for installation

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    The owner of the X session and the shell you are using to install the game must be the same, so wine can connect to the display. So, login as normal user, open a terminal window, with normal user privileges (not as root) and run the installation program again.

    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    its because you are trying to install as root
    install as the user you will run the program as, wine doesn't need root for installation
    Using a wine program as root make your whole linux box just almost as vulnerable as you are on windows. Remember: any malicious software will run with the same privileges of the user running that software. So, if a problematic program runs under wine with root privileges, then you are potentially allowing it to make whatever it wants with your whole system.

    This is why you shouldn't use root, unless you have to. And you usually don't have to.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    6
    i have a problem when i load starcraft

    Direct Draw Error comes out

    do i have to install Direct X? i havn't install any VGA.

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    openbox, what video card are you using? Did you install 3d drivers? Or, are you using the "generic" drivers that came with your installation?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Córdoba (Spain)
    Posts
    1,513
    Quote Originally Posted by openbox View Post
    i have a problem when i load starcraft

    Direct Draw Error comes out

    do i have to install Direct X? i havn't install any VGA.
    You don't have to install directx (and it wouldn't help either). Wine implements it's own version of the directx api (well, some pieces).

    I'd start checking that your video drivers are in order, as someone suggested above. If you plan to game, make sure you are using whatever drivers offer the best performance for 3d acceleration (in ati and nvidia, that would be the propietary drivers that the manufacturer offers: flgrx and nvidia respectively).

  10. #10
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    also if the game allows rendering in opengl, i would recommend you enable that as the native opengl performance will be VASTLY superior to the wine directx implementation

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •