Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I installed WINE successfuly and launched applications from my old windows98 installation. Untill installing WINE I could boot linux or Windows depending on the selection in bootloader. Since I installed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    50

    WINE corrupted my Windows98 installation


    I installed WINE successfuly and launched applications from my old windows98 installation.
    Untill installing WINE I could boot linux or Windows depending on the selection in bootloader. Since I installed Wine my Windows installation can not be started. It immediatelly gives message that the disk is wrong and should be changed.
    If I try to start windows manually using floppy disk at certaint moment it says that VFAT is not accessible.

    Have you any idea how can I search the problem or even correct it.

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    3

    Re: WINE corrupted my Windows98 installation

    But can you still run your win98 in wine?
    Have you had your win98 slice mounted in Linux, accessed it while working with it in wine?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    50

    Re: WINE corrupted my Windows98 installation

    I can run win98 applications in wine.
    Win98 partitions are mounten in linux.

    ??

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    50

    Re: WINE corrupted my Windows98 installation

    the message when trying to boot win98 is:

    =======================
    root (hd0,0)
    file type is fat, partition type 0xb
    chaniloader +1

    Wrong drive
    Change drive and press key

    ===================

    perhaps someone had similiar problem
    help

  6. #5
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    that sounds like a problem with your bootloader. post ur grub.conf or lilo.conf

  7. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Just FYI, those files can usually be found in:

    /etc/lilo.conf

    and

    /boot/grub.conf

    If I'm not mistaken.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    50
    My grub.conf looks like this:

    root (hd1,2)
    install --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/stage1 d (hd0) /boot/grub/stage2
    quit

    But when I can see grub configuration in yast which looks more complicated. Nevertheless hd0 is pointed out for Windows.

    fdisk says:

    Disk /dev/hda: 10.2 GB, 10242892800 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1245 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 772 6201058+ b W95 FAT32
    /dev/hda2 773 1245 3799372+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 773 1245 3799341 b W95 FAT32

    Disk /dev/hdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 1 4536 36435388+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/hdb2 4537 4616 642600 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hdb3 * 4617 9728 41062140 83 Linux

    I have to say that grub was working properly before. I was able to boot Linux or Win98.



    hi

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    50

    warning

    Perhaps corrupet is wrong description.
    Nevetheless I'm sure that Wine did it.
    The configuration tool even warn about risk of corrupting Windows installation. Don't now what changes it introduce to windows. But it does.

    pawel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •