Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
When i run the games i want to play, such as half life or hl2 or gmod, they run perfectly, but some how, it blocks my key board or something, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6

    My keybored seems to not work on wine


    When i run the games i want to play, such as half life or hl2 or gmod, they run perfectly, but some how, it blocks my key board or something, so i doesnt allow me to move, jump, or even exit the game. Can anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    63
    What version of Linux is this? What version of Wine?

    Does the keyboard work in notepad?

    You might get better support at WineHQ Forums Index

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    No, the keyboard doesnt work on note pad, thanks for pointing that out, it has never done this before. How do i find out what type of linux/wine it is, im a newbie thanx for the link, i'll check it out.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    63
    To tell what version of Linux you have, look at the text file /etc/issue.
    e.g. from the commandline, do
    cat /etc/issue

    To tell what version of Wine you have, one way is to give the command
    wine --version
    from the commandline.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    you mean type that into the terminal? oh by the way, i am using a laptop.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    63
    Yes, type it into the terminal at the command prompt.

    Alternately: in Ubuntu, you can do
    System / About Ubuntu
    to find out the version of Linux, and you can do
    System / Administration / Synaptic Package Manager
    and search for Wine to see what version it's offering.
    (That's not as reliable as "wine --version" because you
    might have installed wine some other way, I wouldn't know.
    And you might be using KDE instead of Gnome, in which case
    I don't know what the GUI clicks would be for this.)

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    Ok, I'll try that, i put wine--version into the terminal and it came up unknown command, probably cause i didn't put sudo in front of it though, i'll try it again, if i play the games not going through wine, the controls work, but the game doesn't. ok its telling me command not found.


    ok, i got the package manager, and the wine versin is 1.0.1-ubuntu2

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    63
    No, it's because you forgot the space. It's
    wine --version

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    The linux version is 1:1.0.2-2

    wine version 1.0.1

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    6
    Hey man, sorry but i gtg, please, if you have any info, relay it to me if you can, thanx man, keep in touch.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •