Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hey guys! I have Kubuntu and I cant seem to figure out how to install wine...I want to use a program called RPG Maker vx, which I used on my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! atmmachine11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Post [SOLVED] Installing Wine on Kubuntu


    Hey guys! I have Kubuntu and I cant seem to figure out how to install wine...I want to use a program called RPG Maker vx, which I used on my windows before it got destroyed so I got a new computer with Linux...anyways if anyone has a tutoriel on how to install wine and use it on Kubuntu then Please help me....

    o_____________O ----------Thanks, Aidan----------------------O______________o

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    wine is available in sources. If your machine has internet access then execute this in Konsole :
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install wine
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined! atmmachine11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    noo

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    wine is available in sources. If your machine has internet access then execute this in Konsole :
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install wine
    I do that and it says password for aidan:

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Enter your password. Nothing will appear when you type password, not even *****. Just type correct password and hit Enter key.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined! atmmachine11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs down

    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Enter your password. Nothing will appear when you type password, not even *****. Just type correct password and hit Enter key.
    Oh what if i dont have a password? I have a Ktnetmanager password thinger and I used that but it says please try again...

  6. #6
    Just Joined! atmmachine11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Enter your password. Nothing will appear when you type password, not even *****. Just type correct password and hit Enter key.
    Nm I did enter my actual password and now it says its done reading package lists....so what to do now? to run it?

  7. #7
    Just Joined! atmmachine11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Ignore

    Haha sorry Ignore my 2 posts, I figured out you dont run it you just install programs as if you were on windows thanks for the help Buddy..........

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    A lot of packages available in sources which you can install through package manager apt-get or its Graphical Interface Adept or Synaptic.
    I would suggest you to install Synaptic Package Manager. You can install/update/remove packages with it easily.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install synaptic
    Look for Synaptic Package Manager after its successful installation.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1
    Hi devils!
    Thank for your guide. My problem has now been solved.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •