Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
I'm new to the whole "Wine" program, so don't laugh at this Basically, I'm wondering after installing Wine and setting it up, can you run a program that is already ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Kentucky or the South Pole with the Penguins

Question Simple Wine Question

I'm new to the whole "Wine" program, so don't laugh at this

Basically, I'm wondering after installing Wine and setting it up, can you run a program that is already installed on your Windows partition??

I realize you can just install it through wine and go from there, but if I already have it installed on Windows, I'd rather not install a program again (obviously).

I've searched and searched for an answer but some say yes, some say no. And ALL the answers I get to this question in search are outdated by like 2 and 4 years. So I would imagine Wine has came a long way since then (hoping). I couldn't even find the answer on the Wine website, and even their tutorials are outdated (but I'd imagine they still work tho).

Please shed some light on this question for me, please!

SunshineFolk

Regretfully, it just doesn't work that way.
    It has to be installed in Wine to run.

*EDIT*
    If I'm wrong... I would love to know.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Thank you very much, fellow Kentuckian

But that's a shame! Looks like I'll just be dual-booting then to save the *cough* hassle.

SunshineFolk

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Well, I will continue to search and leave this thread open to see if any hardcore Wine users know any workaround or simple solutions. I'll be sure to post any results if found otherwise.

SunshineFolk