Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys I am a noob to Linux entirely (working on it through Vbox for the past couple of days!). We have a windows program that requires the use of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Windows program with target line how to work in Wine

Hey guys I am a noob to Linux entirely (working on it through Vbox for the past couple of days!). We have a windows program that requires the use of target line commands to operate. I know that Wine for Linux allows the use of some windows programs. The problem i am running into is how in the world do i go about setting up the target command lines in the shortcut (Linux i guess calls it a "link") in order to get these commands to allow the program to open?

I am using Mint 14 if anyone needs to know that. Be gentle i have been a windows user for years and its my first step into Linux.

Hi and welcome

In linux, you would use a wrapper script like this:
    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/env sh

echo "foo $@"
    $@ represents all arguments given to this wrapper, in case you need this.

Instead of echo, you will want to use wine and your exe together with the parameters you need.
    The wrapper needs to be executeable (e.g. chmod 755 wrapper.sh) and potentially be in a $PATH directory.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    Hi and welcome

In linux, you would use a wrapper script like this:
    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/env sh

echo "foo $@"
    $@ represents all arguments given to this wrapper, in case you need this.

Instead of echo, you will want to use wine and your exe together with the parameters you need.
    The wrapper needs to be executeable (e.g. chmod 755 wrapper.sh) and potentially be in a $PATH directory.