Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I've asked this on the Newbie forum but haven't had much help. Maybe someone here? I have installed Wine under Ubuntu 12.04, and added Firefox web browser. It doesn't connect ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Wine won't connect to network


    I've asked this on the Newbie forum but haven't had much help. Maybe someone here?

    I have installed Wine under Ubuntu 12.04, and added Firefox web browser. It doesn't connect to the internet, not even to the router (10.1.1.1). Nor does it recognise localhost (127.0.0.1). I can't find any way to check the network configuration in Wine.

    I have no trouble connecting to the network using Firefox in Ubuntu. I want to get it to work in Wine.

    Any suggestions as to what I should check?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    to check wine netconfig in wine the process I follwed was;

    Start winetricks
    set virtual desktop to 800 x 600
    browse files on C_drive
    browse to c:\windows\system32\ and execute cmd.exe
    then run "ipconfig /all"

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9

    Wine won't connect to network

    Greg,
    Thanks. Opened a whole new world!
    The output is shown below. It all looks the same as on 12.04 - I think. Anything strike you?

    Z:\home\tony>wine ipconfig /all
    Hostname. . . . . . . . . . . . . : tony-desktop
    Node type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP routing enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adaptor lo

    Connection-specific DNS suffix. . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : lo
    Physical address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IPv4 address. . . . . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1
    IPv6 address. . . . . . . . . . . : ::1
    Default gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adaptor eth0

    Connection-specific DNS suffix. . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : eth0
    Physical address. . . . . . . . . : 40-61-86-06-0F-E2
    DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IPv4 address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.4
    IPv6 address. . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::4261:86ff:fe06:fe2%2
    Default gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.1

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    apologies for slow reply. am running massive backup at mo and hardware struggling a little! lol

    if you browse files again in winetricks and open the file <sysdrive>\system32\hosts (just a text editor will be OK) is there anything in it?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Greg1969
    No filename containing "hosts" found on .wine/drive_c.
    Thanks

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    15
    Well honestly? I don't know then. I don't know too much about Wine. We COULD define a hosts file and see if it works but, I really suggest going to the project's website and checking their knowledgebase or forum.

    Sorry mate


    Greg

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    9
    Greg, just to let you know, as a result of your emails I figured out how to run IE under Wine and that connected perfectly, so it must be to do with Firefox. Thanks again.
    Tony

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40
    mynot, then I'd check this out using earlier Wine version. O later one if such is available already

    In the case of failure I'd post Wine's terminal output of Firefox run session. That could help others identify problem.
    If it's too big to read inside a forum, I'd probably upload it to PasteBin or the like.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •